10 Lycoming County High School Seniors Recognized as the 2017 Carl E. Stotz Little League Baseball® Scholarship Recipients

Little League® awards a total of $13,000 in scholarship funds to local high school students.

Winners of the $2,500 2017 Carl E. Stotz Little League® Baseball Scholarship. (L toR): Karen Stotz Myers (daughter of Little League Founder Carl E. Stotz), Hunter Crawley (South Williamsport), Autumn Deitrick (Loyalsock), Stephen D. Keener (Little League President and CEO).

Since 1994, Little League® International has honored the memory of its founder through the Carl E. Stotz Little League Baseball® Scholarship. At its annual luncheon on Thursday, May 18, Little League recognized the achievement of 10 Lycoming County High School Seniors, awarding a total of $13,000 in scholarship funds. In 24 years, Little League has awarded $176,600 to 192 students, including this year’s honorees.

Of the five male and five female recipients, one male student and one female student each received a $2,500 scholarship, with the eight other finalists receiving $1,000. From the 67 scholarship applicants this year, the recipients of the $2,500 scholarships are Autumn Deitrick, from Loyalsock Township High School, and Hunter Crawley, from South Williamsport Area Junior/Senior High School. Ms. Deitrick will be attending Penn State University while Mr. Crawley will continue his education at the University of Pittsburgh.

The other eight finalists, receiving $1,000 scholarships, are Alisha Chen (Williamsport), Sarah Freezer (Muncy), Emily Cholin (Loyalsock), Courtney Scott (Hughesville), Justin Kramer (Muncy), McGwire Molino (South Williamsport), Caleb Smith (Muncy), and Noah Fagnano (Montoursville).


“Since its founding in 1939, Little League has been committed to instilling life lessons of hard work, dedication, and determination,” said Stephen D. Keener, Little League President and Chief Executive Officer. “These 10 students are all shining examples of how these life lessons lead to success in the classroom and as citizens. We are honored to not only recognize Carl Stotz’s legacy of fostering the development of children in Lycoming County and around the world, but also the commitment and accomplishments of this year’s Stotz Scholarship recipients.”

The scholarships perpetuate the memory of Little League’s founder, Carl E. Stotz, recognizing his commitment to the development of youth in Lycoming County. The year following his passing, in 1993, the Little League International Board of Directors established this scholarship program to recognize Mr. Stotz’s commitment to the local, Lycoming County community, and commemorate his vision in creating a community-based organization to provide a competitive, healthy outlet for children to learn the values of teamwork, dedication, and sportsmanship.

The Stotz Scholarship recognizes high school seniors from Lycoming County school districts who excel in academics and citizenship. In order to be considered, a graduating senior must be in the top 25 percent of their class at one of the nine Lycoming County high schools. In addition to academics, the applications are reviewed on merits of good citizenship and whose spirit exemplifies effort, determination, and persistence in attaining the goal of higher education. Each interested senior submits two letters of recommendation and an essay on what they hope to achieve through higher education. Applications for the scholarship are generally accepted between December and March.

winners of award
Winners of the 2017 Carl E. Stotz Little League Baseball® Scholarship. (Back Row, L to R): Karen Stotz Myers (daughter of Little League Founder Carl E. Stotz), Sarah Freezer (Muncy), Emily Cholin (Loyalsock), Autumn Deitrick (Loyalsock), Courtney Scott (Hughesville), Alisha Chen (Williamsport), Stephen D. Keener, Little League President and CEO. (Front Row, L to R): Caleb Smith (Muncy), Justin Kramer (Muncy), Hunter Crawley (South Williamsport), Noah Fagnano (Montoursville). Not pictured: McGwire Molino (South Williamsport).