1. Play Little League®
  2. Little League Baseball

Little League Baseball® World Series

In 1947, the Board of Directors for the original Little League decided to organize a tournament for all known Little League programs (there were 17) and called it the National Little League Tournament. It was later renamed the Little League Baseball® World Series.

The 12 teams that participated in the first series in 1947 were:

  • Williamsport (Original) Little League
  • Williamsport Sunday School League
  • Maynard Midget League (Williamsport)
  • Lincoln League Stars (Williamsport)
  • Brandon Boys League (Williamsport)
  • Milton (Pa.) Midget League
  • Montour Little League (Montoursville, Pa.)
  • Montgomery (Pa.) Little League
  • Jersey Shore (PA) All Stars
  • Lock Haven (PA) All Stars
  • Hammonton (NJ) All Stars
  • West Shore Original Little League (Enola, Pa.).

The champion was the Maynard Midget League of Williamsport, which defeated the Lock Haven All Stars in the final game, 16-7.

More than 2,500 spectators witnessed the championship game, and the results were printed in newspapers around the country. The publicity helped spread Little League nationwide, and within a few years, Little League programs were in every state. When Little League added other programs (Senior League Baseball, softball divisions, etc.), it added tournament play and World Series tournaments in those divisions. There are now seven (7) World Series tournaments played every year in the various divisions of Little League.


2018 Little League Baseball® World Series

  • http://www.llbws.org/
  • League age 10- to 12-year-olds
  • Location: South Williamsport, Pa. (Volunteer Stadium & Howard J. Lamade Stadium)
  • Date: August 16 to 26
  • History: 60th Season in South Williamsport; 72nd Season Overall
  • 2018 Champion: West Region – Honolulu Little League (Honolulu, Hawaii)


2018 Intermediate 50/70 Baseball World Series

  • http://www.intermediateworldseries.org/
  • League age 11- to 13-year-olds
  • Location: Livermore, Calif. (Max Baer Park)
  • Date: July 29 to August 5
  • History: 6th Season in Livermore; 6th Season Overall
  • 2018 Champion: Asia-Pacific Region – West Seoul LL (Seoul, South Korea)
West Seoul Little League


2018 Junior League Baseball World Series

  • http://www.cityoftaylor.com
  • League age 12- to 14-year-olds
  • Location: Taylor, Mich. (Heritage Park)
  • Date: August 12 to 19
  • History: 38th Season in Taylor; 38th Season Overall
  • 2018 Champion: Asia-Pacific Region – Shing-Ming Junior Little League (Taoyuan City, Chinese Taipei)


2018 Senior League Baseball World Series

  • http://www.slbws.org/
  • League age 13- to 16-year-olds
  • Location: Easley, S.C. (Easley Recreation Complex)
  • Date: July 28 to August 4
  • History: 2nd Season in Easley; 58th Season Overall
  • 2018 Champion: Caribbean Region – Pariba Little League (Willemstad, Curacao)
Pariba Little League