Little League® Alumni Earn 2019-20 Gatorade Player of the Year Honors

2019-20 Gatorade Players of the Year

In its 35th year of honoring the nation’s best high school athletes, Gatorade announced the winners of the 2019-20 Gatorade Players of the Year, which includes 89 prominent high school athletes whose first chapter of their athletic career includes time spent on the Little League® Baseball and Softball fields. Of the 89 alumni, three were named the National Player of the Year in their respective sport while St. Louis Park (Minn.) Little League graduate, Paige Bueckers, was named the Gatorade Female High School Athlete of the Year.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade Player of the Year Selection Committee, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport. Since the program’s inception in 1985, Gatorade Player of the Year award recipients have won hundreds of professional and college championships, and many have also turned into pillars in their communities, becoming coaches, business owners and educators.

Below are the 2019-20 Gatorade State Players of the Year who played Little League growing up (*denotes National Player of the Year for their respective sport):

Baseball (27)

Softball (10)

  • Alaska – Sabrina Jolin – Abbott O Rabbit LL (Anchorage, Alaska)
  • Connecticut – Abby Ota – Jesse P Sanford Boys and Girls Club LL (Redding, Conn.)
  • Delaware – Tayler Vitola – MOT LL (Middletown, Del.)
  • Washington, D.C. – JoJo Scurry – Capitol City LL (Washington, D.C.)
  • Hawaii – Liliana Thomas – Kailua (Hawaii) LL
  • Iowa – Mikayla Houge – Central Iowa LL (Polk City, Iowa)
  • Maine – Bella Dickinson – Scarborough (Maine) LL
  • New Hampshire – Sam Wiberg – Lamprey River LL (Raymond, N.H.)
  • Vermont – Meghan Connor – St. Albans (Vt.) LL
  • Virginia – Emerson Aiken – Tuckahoe Softball LL (Henrico, Va.)

Boys Basketball (9)

Girls Basketball (4)

  • Maine – Emily Archibald – Kennebunk-Kennebunkport (Maine) LL
  • Minnesota – Paige Bueckers – St. Louis Park (Minn.) LL*
    • Named the Gatorade Female High School Athlete of the Year
  • New York – Sonia Citron – Eastchester (N.Y.) LL
  • Rhode Island – Megan Bodziony – South Kingstown (R.I.) American LL

Boys Cross Country (8)

Girls Cross Country (2)

Football (10)

Boys Soccer (8)

Girls Soccer (2)

Boys Track and Field (5)

Girls Track and Field (3)

Volleyball (2)

To learn more about the Gatorade Player of the Year Program, including the full list of winners for 2019-20, visit

NOTE: If you know of a player that we have missed, please e-mail the information, including name, state, sport, and the name of the city, town, and league where they played Little League, to [email protected].