28 Little League® Alumni Showcase Their Talents at the 2017 College World Series and Women’s College World Series

Nine Little League Baseball® alumni and 19 Little League Softball® alumni represented eight different schools in the postseason this year.

college world series banner

With the University of Florida’s win over LSU in the College World Series® this June, the 2017 college baseball and softball seasons are officially over. The Gators join the Oklahoma Sooners, who defeated the Florida women in the Women’s College World Series®, as 2017 national champions in their respective sports. Among the most elite college baseball and softball players in the 2017 CWS and WCWS were 28 Little League® graduates who are making their mark in the college ranks.

NOTE: If you know of a player that we have missed, please e-mail the information, including name, current college team and the name of the city or town where they played Little League, to [email protected].


College World Series (CWS)

There were nine former Little League Baseball® players in the College World Series, from Florida, Florida State, Louisville and LSU.

University of Florida

Christian Hicks, St. Augustine (Fla.) Little League

Florida State University

Drew Parrish, Rockledge (Fla.) Little League, 2012 JLBWS champion;

University of Louisville

Devin Mann, Bartholomew County (Ind.) Little League, 2009 Great Lakes Region runner-up

Drew Ellis, Jeffersonville/GRC American (Ind.) Little League, 2008 LLBWS participant

Chandler Dale, Jefferson/GRC American (Ind.) Little League, 2008 LLBWS and 2010 JLBWS participant


Antoine Duplantis, Lafayette (La.) Little League, 2005 LLBWS participant

Cole Freeman, Pilney (La.) Little League

Beau Jordan South Lake Charles (La.) Little League, 2008 LLBWS U.S. runner-up

Bryce Jordan South Lake Charles (La.) Little League, 2008 LLBWS U.S. runner-up

Women’s College World Series (WCWS)

The 19 Little League Softball® alumni participating in the Women’s College World Series played for Baylor, LSU, Oregon, Florida, Washington and UCLA.

Baylor University

Kayla Walker, Franklin (Texas) Little League

Taylor Ellis, Midway (Texas) Little League, 2011 LLSWS runner-up

Madi O’Neal, Huffman (Texas) Little League

Sydney Christensen, Crawford (Texas) Little League

University of Florida

Sophia Reynoso, Palmdale (Calif.) Little League

Aleshia Ocasio, Conway (Fla.) Little League


Layna Savoie, Lake Charles (La.) Little League

Aliyah Andrews, Oldsmar (Fla.) Little League

Carley Hoover, Simpsonville (S.C.) Little League, 2008 LLSWS champion

University of Oregon

Maggie Balint, Avon Grove (Pa.) Little League


Rachel Garcia, Palmdale (Calif.) Little League

Izzy Ordorica, West Tampa (Fla.) Little League

University of Washington

Gianna Carideo, South Tampa (Fla.) Little League, 2013 JLSWS champion

Rachel Ogasawara, Waipio (Hawaii) Little League, 2009 State Champion

Kaija Gibson, Redmond (Wash.) Little League

Julia Deponte, Vacaville Central (Calif.) Little League

Taran Alevelo, Lucasville (Ohio) Little League

Trysten Melhart

Maggie Gallagher