Umpires should not allow the defense to turn a double play because they did not properly call an infield fly. This is a correctable error, and the batter should be called out when the play has ended. Any runners should be placed equitably.
For example, with R1 and R2 and one out, a fly ball is hit, and the third base fielder comfortably settles under the ball. There is no call of “Infield Fly, Batter’s out” made by the umpire. At the last moment, the third base fielder allows the batted ball to fall to the ground, recovers the ball, steps on third base forcing out R2 and throws to 2nd base, forcing out R1. The batter-runner reaches 1st base safely.
- Rule an Infield Fly, call the batter out and remove her/him from first base.
- Return R2 and R1 to their time-of-pitch bases.
Logic for the equity ruling: Had the Infield Fly been properly called and both teams acted as well coached teams would, the batter being out and R1 and R2 at their Time-of-Pitch bases is how the play would have ended.