About Little League® International Congress


ll congress speaker

Little League® has pioneered a unique forum for field leaders to give voice and authoritative sanction to representation. This forum is the Little League International Congress, first launched in 1956. The purpose of the International Congress is to chart the course of the world’s largest organized youth baseball and softball program. More than a thousand Little League volunteers from around the globe attend the Little League International Congress, held once every four years.

Nearly 450 of those attending are volunteer District Administrators, or delegates, who serve as liaisons between the local leagues and Little League International. District Administrators are elected by their constituent leagues to provide support, and to represent their interests as delegates to the International Congress. The primary purpose of the Congress is to amend rules and regulations.

The delegates, and their assistant district administrators, meet in round table discussions, making any necessary changes in the proposed amendments, then vote on the changes on the final day of the Congress. A two-thirds vote is required for passage. Those amendments receiving the necessary vote are then presented to the International Board of Directors for final approval.

Little League® International Congress Sites

1956: Morrison Hotel, Chicago, Ill.
1957: Morrison Hotel, Chicago, Ill.
1958: Morrison Hotel, Chicago, Ill.
1959: Four Regional Meetings
1960: Morrison Hotel, Chicago, Ill.
1961: Statler Hilton, Los Angeles, Calif.
1963: Waldorf Astoria, New York, N.Y.
1965: Hilton, Washington, D.C.
1967: Shamrock Hilton, Houston, Texas
1969: Sheraton-Cadillac, Detroit, Mich.
1971: Portland Hilton, Portland, Ore.
1973: Tampa Convention Center, Tampa, Fla.
1975: Hyatt Regency O’Hare, Chicago, Ill.
1978: Sheraton Harbor Island, San Diego, Calif.
1981: Charlotte Civic Center, Charlotte, N.C.
1984: Hyatt Regency, Tampa, Fla.
1987: Anaheim Hilton & Towers, Anaheim, Calif.
1989: Various Facilities, Williamsport, Pa.
1992: Boston Park Plaza Hotel, Boston, Mass.
1995: Reno Hilton, Reno, Nev.
1998: Marriott Rivercenter, San Antonio, Texas
2001: Ottawa Congress Center, Ottawa, Ontario
2004: Pavilion Convention Center, Virginia Beach, Va.
2007: Hilton Americas, Houston, Texas
2010: Lexington Convention Center, Lexington, Ky.
2014: Hilton Minneapolis, Minneapolis, Minn.
2018: Hilton New Orleans Riverside, New Orleans, La.