1. Game Schedule
  2. Bracket
  3. Regionals

2019 Little League Baseball World Series – August 15 – 25

Venezuela Presented With Jack Losch Little League Baseball® World Series Team Sportsmanship Award


Based on their incredible display of sportsmanship throughout the Little League Baseball® World Series, Cacique Mara Little League from Maracaibo, Venezuela, has been named the recipient of the 2019 Jack Losch Little League Baseball World Series Team Sportsmanship Award.

“Throughout the entire World Series, the players, manager, and coaches of Cacique Mara Little League have exemplified the sportsmanship, character, and respect that Little League represents in communities around the world,” said Stephen D. Keener, Little League President and CEO. “We are honored to present this award to Cacique Mara Little League and hope their display of sportsmanship here in Williamsport will continue to inspire local Little League programs around the world.”

While none of the Venezuela players’ families were able to make the trip to Williamsport, hundreds of fans on site decided they would try to help the players feel more at home during each of the team’s games. From celebration dances at the plate to the sportsmanship they show after the game by bowing to their opponents fans after the game, the team from Venezuela has won over the hearts of the fans, staff, and volunteers at the 2019 Little League Baseball World Series.

Voted on by the 16 participating teams, coaches, team hosts, volunteers, members of the media, and the staff within the Dr. Creighton J. Hale International Grove, the Jack Losch Little League Baseball World Series Team Sportsmanship Award recognizes the team that exemplifies a tremendous amount of sportsmanship both on and off the field, including the team’s time in the dormitories, dining hall, and interview room as well as their performance on the field.

About Jack Losch

As a boy, Jack Losch was the center fielder on the first Little League Baseball World Championship team in 1947. As a young man, he established football rushing marks that continue to be in the record books today at the University of Miami where he was an All-American as a senior in 1955. A year later, he became the first Little League Baseball World Series participant to play a professional sport when he was selected in the first round of the National Football League amateur draft by the Green Bay Packers. In 2004, the Jack Losch Little League Baseball World Series Team Sportsmanship Award was established and is presented to a Series team each year that best exemplifies the spirit that Mr. Losch displayed both on and off the playing field.

Previous Recipients

  • 2004-Kutno LL, Kutno, Poland
  • 2005-Whalley LL, Surrey, B.C., Canada
  • 2006-Whalley LL, Surrey, B.C., Canada
  • 2007 -Windmills Alpeldoorn (Netherlands) LL
  • 2008-Edogawa Minami LL, Tokyo, Japan
  • 2009-Hastings Community LL, Vancouver, B.C.
  • 2010-Edogawa Minami LL, Tokyo, Japan
  • 2011-Hamamatsu Minami LL, Hamanatsu City, Japan
  • 2012-Lugazi LL, Lugazi, Uganda
  • 2013-Perth Metro Central LL, Perth, Australia
  • 2014-Coquivacoa LL, Maracaibo, Venezuela
  • 2015-Webb City LL, Webb City, Mo.
  • 2016-Maine-Endwell LL, Endwell, N.Y.
  • 2017-Hills LL, Sydney, Australia
  • 2018-Honolulu LL, Honolulu, Hawaii; Peachtree City LL, Peachtree City, Ga. (co-winners)