East Seoul Little League® Advances to Little League Baseball® World Series as 2016 Asia-Pacific Region Champions

eas seoul team
Little League Baseball® Asia-Pacific Region Champions, East Seoul Little League, celebrate after winning their region tournament in Seoul, South Korea.

For the second time in three years, Seoul, South Korea, will represent the Asia-Pacific Region at the 2016 Little League Baseball® World Series in Williamsport, Pa., this summer. It will be the fourth time a team from South Korea has made an appearance at the World Series.

Despite having only made the trip to Williamsport three times in the past, teams South Korea have a perfect 11-0 record, winning the World Series Championship each time. National Little League from Seoul won back-to-back titles in 1984 and 1985. In 2014, Seoul Little League capped off their tournament run with Little League Baseball World Series Championship Game victory.

The team from East Seoul Little League won the championship banner on their home soil at the 2016 Little League Baseball Asia-Pacific Region Tournament held in Seoul, South Korea. They held on to defeat the team from Chinese Taipei 7-6 in the championship game on Friday, July 1. Despite the stern test from Chinese Taipei, East Seoul Little League found a way to win, finishing the tournament undefeated to seal their ticket to Williamsport.

LEARN MORE: Asia-Pacific Region Tournament

East Seoul Little League was formed in 2015, following Seoul Little League’s 2014 championship, when registration numbers increased and the league was divided into East Seoul and West Seoul. Last year, West Seoul Little League were the Asia-Pacific Region Champions at the 2015 Little League Intermediate (50/70) Baseball World Series, defeating the Southeast Region Champions to win the Championship Game.

They will attempt to become the fifth consecutive team from the international side to win the Little League Baseball World Series. East Seoul Little League will play its first game as Asia-Pacific Region Champions on Friday, August 19 against the Caribbean Region Champions at 6 p.m. at Volunteer Stadium.