Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

Little League Uniforms All and Snuggle Ad BombPop Ad Canon BBFactory-177 Dudley Easton Ad ilead177 Gatorade heinz-ad177 Honda Kelloggs Musco Ad New Era Oakley Russell Ad SBFactory-177 Spalding Subway
 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2012 > January-April > Umpires Selected for Eight Little League World Series

Umpires Selected for Eight Little League World Series

Umpires Selected for Eight Little League World Series


The umpires who will be working the eight Little League World Series have been selected after going through a lengthy and stringent selection process. Appointment as a member of the umpiring crew for a World Series is the highest honor Little League Baseball and Softball can bestow on an umpire.

The process for selection to work a World Series includes the umpire being nominated by a District Administrator to the regional office. The regional office, along with the region's Umpire-In-Chief, considers all umpires nominated before selecting those who most closely meet the criteria for selection.



An umpire on the 2011 Big League Baseball World Series crew makes a call at third base during a game last year.

To be considered for selection, an umpire must have previously worked a recent regional in the same Little League division as the World Series they are being considered for. Regional Tournament experience at a division different than the World Series level requested is also considered when making the selection.


An umpire is eligible to be selected for a World Series assignment once every four years. Selection as an umpire at any of Little League's eight World Series means that person has reached the highest level of proficiency and by virtue of their selection is considered among the best in the world.

Each year, thousands of umpires officiate games with most not receiving any pay. Umpires who are selected to work a World Series are not reimbursed for their travel expenses.

The list of umpires at each of the eight sites follows:

2012 Little League Baseball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 16-26; South Williamsport, Pa.)

(by Name, Place of Residence)

  • Torben Begines (Hayden, Idaho); Darrin Besescheck (Shelton, Conn.); Dale Blevins (Bristol, Va.); Dan Campagnolo (Los Gatos, Calif.); Jose Chaparro (Trujillo Alto, Puerto Rico); Chet Cooper (Canfield, Ohio); Tony Cooper (Playa Del Rey, Calif.); Bruce Dinkel (Albuquerque, N.M.); Juan Garza (Hurst, Texas); Robbie Guest (Macon, Ga.); Jesse Howard (Boone, Iowa); Marty Jones (Beckley, W. Va.); George Luff II (Milford, Del.); John Mitchell (Edmonton, Alberta); Terry Stansberry (Aransas Park, Texas); Martin Weber (Ostrigen, Germany).

2012 Junior League Baseball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 12-18; Taylor, Mich.)

(by Name, Place of Residence)

  • Zilvinas Barieka (Vilnius, Lithuania); Rudolph Barnitz (Beaverton, Ore.); Richard Blundell Jr. (Brenham, Texas); David Chavez (Thousand Oaks, Calif.); James Elidechedong (Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands); Edward Gall (Haymarket, Va.); Dave Head (Rockledge, Fla.); Jason Kelley (Madison, Wis.); Edwin Rivera (St. Croix, Virgin Islands); Jose Rivera (Fitchburg, Mass.); Dennis Sanville (New Durham, N.H.); Phillip Sapien (Corrales, N.M.); Steve Walker (West Carrollton, Ohio).

2012 Senior League Baseball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 12-18; Bangor, Maine)

(by Name, Place of Residence)

  • Richard Adams (Glendale, N.Y.); Calvin Demery (Regina, Saskatchewan); Shawn Dobey (Macomb, Ill.); Steven Ferrera (Sharon, Mass.); Mike Hudgins (Tomball, Texas); Doug Lamb (Springfield, Va.); James Maclean (Mt. Pleasant, Mich.); Jim O'Bannon (Troup, Texas); Jaime Perez (Saratoga, Calif.); James White (Orlando, Fla.); Dennis Williams (Seatac, Wash.); Cheong Wing (Savanenta, Aruba).

2012 Big League Baseball World Series Umpiring Crew (July 25-Aug. 1; Easley, S.C.)

(by Name, Place of Residence)

  • Joseph Blazek (Romeoville, Ill.); Sean Conners (Valatie, N.Y.); Jack Dillard (Indianapolis, Ind.); Jim Gildea (Arlington, Texas); Robert Guerrero (Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands); Brian Johnson (Tazewell, Va.); Mathieu Lacombe (Rouyn-Noranda, Quebec); Jorge Martinez (Barranquilla, Colombia); Michael Michener (Lititz, Pa.); Wade Sellers (Kerrville, Texas); Bill Shortridge (Placerville, Calif.); Mark Strifler (Crystal River, Fla.); Brian Walsh (Redding, Calif.).

2012 Little League Softball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 9-15; Portland, Ore.)

(by Name, Place of Residence)

  • Patricia Boening (Yoakum, Texas); Bob Claton (Springfield, Ill.); Francis Dubee Jr. (Seminole, Fla.); Michael Durkin (Succasunna, N.J.); George Hinojosa Jr. (Brownsville, Texas); Brian Marks (Fairfield, Conn.); Ruben Mercado (Christiansted, Virgin Islands); Jerry Millage (Muscatine, Iowa); Jeffery Pratt (San Jose, Calif.); Thomas Schenck (Lake Mary, Fla.); Steve Sisson (Heathsville, Va.); Emmit Tucker (Clinton, Mont.).

2012 Junior League Softball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 12-18; Kirkland, Wash.)

(by Name, Place of Residence)

  • Rich Bavilacqua (Riverview, Fla.); Gilbert Brooks (Prineville, Ore.); William Caples (Middlebury, Ind.); Angel Humphrey Croes (San Nicolas, Aruba); James Dent (Greenville, Tenn.); Juan Gonzalez (Brownsville, Texas); James Hans Sr. (Milton, Pa.); Al Lang (Bastrop, Texas); Alan McCullough (Sacramento, Calif.); Luis Piedra (San Antonio, Texas); Jamie Roach (Brownstown, Mich.); Joe Smith (Rising Sun, Md.).

2012 Senior League Softball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 5-11; Lower Sussex, Del.)

(by Name, Place of Residence)

  • Keith Besand (Bremerton, Wash.); Steve Bradshaw (Kerrville, Texas); Alberto Hernandez (San Juan, Puerto Rico); Leland King (Ashburn, Va.); Jack Kollar (South Bend, Ind.); Richard Odermatt (Rosamond, Calif.); Wayne Parslow (Lyman, Maine); Joseph Perchetti (Audubon, N.J.); Allen Riley (LaGrange, Ky.); Larry Roberts Sr. (Dade City, Fla.); Richard Webb (Beeville, Texas); Vincent Yale (Colora, Md.).

2012 Big League Softball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 2-8; Kalamazoo, Mich.)

(by Name, Place of Residence)

  • Dan Broad (Windsor, Ontario); Mack Edgar (Bristol, Va.); William Engblom (Pendleton, Ore.); John French (Houston, Texas); Michael LaGuardia (Norwalk, Conn.); Sandy Lint (Willemstad, Curacao); Daniel Obryan (Canton, Mich.); Paul Sanders (El Campo, Texas); Stephen Smith (Crab Orchard, W. Va.); Kevin Spoon (Rushville, Ill.); Gene Sutton (Ledgewood, N.J.); Jeffrey Wimbrough (San Diego, Calif.).