Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2011 > May-August > Ocean View Little League Earns Berth in Little League Baseball World Series By Capturing West Region Tournament Title

Ocean View Little League Earns Berth in Little League Baseball World Series By Capturing West Region Tournament Title

Ocean View Little League Earns Berth in Little League Baseball World Series By Capturing West Region Tournament Title


2011 Little League Baseball World Series Schedule and Bracket
2011 World Series Media Credential Form
2011 West Tournament

Ocean View Little League from Huntington Beach, Calif., rode the right arm of Hagen Danner and some clutch late-inning hitting to win the West Region Tournament today and a berth in the 2011 Little League Baseball World Series. The Southern California Champions defeated Red Bluff (Calif.) Little League in the championship game, 2-1, in front of packed crowd at Al Houghton Stadium at the Little League Western Region Headquarters Complex in San Bernardino, Calif.

Danner went the distance to earn his second win of the tournament allowing just one unearned run on three hits while striking out 14.

For most of the game it looked like a first inning RBI single by Lane Pritchard was all Red Bluff Little League starting pitcher Wesley Clawson was going to need, as he matched Danner pitch-for-pitch. Through the first five innings, Clawson had shutout the Ocean View Little League team on two hits.

In the top of the sixth inning, Nick Pratto took the first pitch from Clawson down the right field line for a triple. After Clawson was replaced on the mound by Pritchard, who had saved two previous games in the tournament, Steven Kotkosky took the first pitch over the center field fence for the game-winning hit.

Danner completed the comeback victory by retiring the Red Bluff Little League team in order in the bottom of the sixth inning on an infield pop up and two strikeouts.

Ocean View Little League joins nine other 2011 World Series qualifiers who will be making their first appearance. That list includes: Billings (Mont.) Big Sky Little League, the Northwest Champion; Cumberland (R.I.) Little League, the New England Region Champion; North Oldham Little League from LaGrange, Ky., the Great Lakes Region Champion; Lafayette (La.) Little League, the Southeastern Region Champion; Rotterdam Little League from Rotterdam, Netherlands, the Europe Champion; Gran Maracay Little League from Maracay, Venezuela, the Latin America Champion; Aruba North Little League, from Oranjestad, Aruba, the Caribbean Champion; Asia-Pacific Region Champion Ching-Tang Little League from Kaohsiung, Chinese Taipei; and Japan Region Champion Hamamatsu Minami Little League from Hamamatsu City, Japan.

The other four 2011 World Series teams are making return trips. Langley (B.C.) Little League, the Canada Region Champion; Warner Robins (Ga.) American Little League, the Southeast Champion; Segura Social Little League from Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico, the Mexico Region Champions; and Arabian American Little League from Dhahran, Saudi Arabia, the Middle East and Africa representative, have all played in the World Series in previous years.

The West Region Champions will play their first game in the World Series, Aug. 19, against the New England Champions, Cumberland (R.I.) American Little League.

The 65th Little League Baseball World Series, for 11-12-year-olds, will be played in South Williamsport, Pa., Aug. 18-28. Sixteen teams from around the world will vie for the coveted title of World Champion.

For the first time since the World Series went to 16 teams in 2001, the teams will be split into two eight-team brackets – a U.S. bracket and an International bracket. For the last 10 years, the 16 teams had been split into four four-team pools.

In addition, this year a modified double-elimination format will be used that eliminates the “if necessary” games from the tournament.

The 2011 World Series is the fifth under an eight-year television contract with ESPN/ABC. All games of the World Series will be televised live, in high definition, on the ESPN family of networks or ABC. ABC will air the World Series championship game, Aug. 28 at 3 p.m., and the U.S. and International Championship games the previous day beginning with the International contest at 1 p.m. and the U.S. game to follow. For the first time, 17 World Series games will air on ESPN 3D this year.

As has been the case since 1997, everyone can follow the road to South Williamsport for the squads from the U.S. with ESPN and its family of networks coverage of the Little League Baseball regionals. Live coverage of the semifinals and championship game at all eight regional sites began August 9. In addition, the New England Sports Network (NESN) will televise four pool play games in the New England Regional, played at the A. Bartlett Giamatti Leadership Training Center in Bristol, Conn., and both semifinals.

The final berth in the Little League Baseball World Series will be decided tomorrow (Aug. 14) when the champion in Mid-Atlantic Region (Aug. 14, 11 a.m., Bristol, Conn., ESPN2) will be determined.

Edogawa Minami Little League from Tokyo became the first champion from Japan since 2003 in last year’s World Series defeating Waipio Little League from Waipahu, Hawaii, 4-1, in the title game.

Follow every step of the Little League Baseball World Series on the Little League web site (www.LittleLeague.org).

Little League Baseball and Softball is the world’s largest organized youth sports program, with more than 2.5 million players and 1 million adult volunteers in every U.S. state and scores of other countries.

2011 Little League Baseball World Series

International Bracket

Japan Region Champion – Hamamatsu Minami Little League (Hamamatsu City, Japan)

Asia-Pacific Region Champion – Ching-Tang Little League (Kaohsiung, Chinese Taipei)

Middle East and Africa Region Champion – Arabian American Little League (Dhahran, Saudi Arabia)

Caribbean Region Champion – Aruba North Little League (Oranjestad, Aruba)

Latin America Region Champion – Gran Maracay Little League (Maracay, Venezuela)

Europe Region Champion – Rotterdam Little League (Rotterdam, Netherlands)

Mexico Region Champion – Segura Social Little League (Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico)

Canada Region Champion – Langley Little League (Langley, British Columbia)

U.S. Bracket

Southwestern Region Champion – Lafayette Little League (Lafayette, La.)

Southeast Region Champion – Warner Robins American Little League (Warner Robins, Ga.)

Great Lakes Region Champion – North Oldham Little League (La Grange, Ky.)

New England Region Champion – Cumberland American Little League (Cumberland, R.I.)

Northwest Region Champion – Billings Big Sky Little League (Billings, Mont.)

Midwest Region Champion – determined Aug. 13

West Region Champion – Ocean View Little League (Huntington Beach, Calif.)

Mid-Atlantic Region Champion – determined Aug. 14