Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2011 > May-August > Keystone Little League Earns Berth in Little League Baseball World Series as Mid-Atlantic Region Champion

Keystone Little League Earns Berth in Little League Baseball World Series as Mid-Atlantic Region Champion

Keystone Little League Earns Berth in Little League Baseball World Series as Mid-Atlantic Region Champion


2011 Little League Baseball World Series Schedule and Bracket
2011 World Series Media Credential Form
2011 Mid-Atlantic Tournament

Keystone Little League from Clinton County, Pa., earned the final spot in the 2011 Little League Baseball World Series today with a 5-2 victory over Paramus (N.J.) Little League in the championship game of the Mid-Atlantic Region Tournament. The first three innings of the game were played Sunday (Aug. 14), before the game was suspended because of rain.

The game was played at Breen Field at the A. Bartlett Giamatti Little League Leadership Training Center in Bristol, Conn.

There was no score when the game was suspended on Sunday. The starting pitchers, Alex Garbrick for Keystone Little League and Hirokazu Mizutani from Paramus Little League, both pitched effectively in the first three innings, but were not allowed to return to the mound when the game was resumed because they were no longer eligible by rule.

When play resumed today, both teams took little time in getting on the scoreboard.

In the bottom of the fourth inning, Keystone’s Talon Falls was hit by a pitch and Landon Breon followed with a single to center field. After a pop out for the second out of the inning, Wyatt Koch blasted a home run to center field to put the Pennsylvania State Champions ahead, 3-0.

In the top half of the fifth inning, Paramus Little League came right back to plate two runs on a Nicholas DeNigris home run. But, in the bottom half of the fifth inning, Tyler McClosky led off with a home run to center field for Keystone Little League and Garbrick drove in an insurance run with an RBI single later in the inning.

The first two batters for the New Jersey State Champions reached base in the top of the sixth inning, but McClosky retired the next three batters. Breon started the game for Keystone when it was resumed, earning the win with McClosky notching his third save of the tournament.

Keystone Little League will be making its first appearance in the Little League Baseball World Series. The county seat for Clinton County (Lock Haven) is located just 28 miles from South Williamsport. The last area team to play in the World Series was Newberry (Pa.) Little League in 1969.

Keystone Little League joins 10 other 2011 World Series qualifiers who will be making their first appearance. That list includes: Midwest Region Champion, Harney Little League from Rapid City S.D.; West Region Champion, Ocean View Little League from Huntington Beach, Calif.; Billings (Mont.) Big Sky Little League, the Northwest Region Champion; Cumberland (R.I.) Little League, the New England Region Champion; North Oldham Little League from LaGrange, Ky., the Great Lakes Region Champion; Rotterdam Little League from Rotterdam, Netherlands, the Europe Champion; Gran Maracay Little League from Maracay, Venezuela, the Latin America Champion; Aruba North Little League, from Oranjestad, Aruba, the Caribbean Champion; Asia-Pacific Region Champion Ching-Tang Little League from Kaohsiung, Chinese Taipei; and Japan Region Champion Hamamatsu Minami Little League from Hamamatsu City, Japan.

The other five 2011 World Series teams are making return trips. Lafayette (La.) Little League, the Southwestern Region Champion; Langley (B.C.) Little League, the Canada Region Champion; Warner Robins (Ga.) American Little League, the Southeast Champion; Segura Social Little League from Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico, the Mexico Region Champions; and Arabian American Little League from Dhahran, Saudi Arabia, the Middle East and Africa representative, are the teams who have played in previous World Series.

The Mid-Atlantic Region Champions will play their first game in the World Series, Aug. 19, against the Great Lakes Champion, North Oldham Little League from La Grange, Ky.

The 65th Little League Baseball World Series, for 11-12-year-olds, will be played in South Williamsport, Pa., Aug. 18-28. Sixteen teams from around the world will vie for the coveted title of World Champion.

For the first time since the World Series went to 16 teams in 2001, the teams will be split into two eight-team brackets – a U.S. bracket and an International bracket. For the last 10 years, the 16 teams had been split into four four-team pools.

In addition, this year a modified double-elimination format will be used that eliminates the “if necessary” games from the tournament.

The 2011 World Series is the fifth under an eight-year television contract with ESPN/ABC. All games of the World Series will be televised live, in high definition, on the ESPN family of networks or ABC. ABC will air the World Series championship game, Aug. 28 at 3 p.m., and the U.S. and International Championship games the previous day beginning with the International contest at 1 p.m. and the U.S. game to follow. For the first time, 17 World Series games will air on ESPN 3D this year.

Edogawa Minami Little League from Tokyo became the first champion from Japan since 2003 in last year’s World Series defeating Waipio Little League from Waipahu, Hawaii, 4-1, in the title game. The win by an International team broke a five-year winning streak by teams from the U.S. In the 64 years the World Series has been played, there have been 32 U.S. champions and 32 International champions.

Follow every step of the Little League Baseball World Series on the Little League web site (www.LittleLeague.org).

Little League Baseball and Softball is the world’s largest organized youth sports program, with more than 2.5 million players and 1 million adult volunteers in every U.S. state and scores of other countries.

2011 Little League Baseball World Series

International Bracket

Japan Region Champion – Hamamatsu Minami Little League (Hamamatsu City, Japan)

Asia-Pacific Region Champion – Ching-Tang Little League (Kaohsiung, Chinese Taipei)

Middle East and Africa Region Champion – Arabian American Little League (Dhahran, Saudi Arabia)

Caribbean Region Champion – Aruba North Little League (Oranjestad, Aruba)

Latin America Region Champion – Gran Maracay Little League (Maracay, Venezuela)

Europe Region Champion – Rotterdam Little League (Rotterdam, Netherlands)

Mexico Region Champion – Segura Social Little League (Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico)

Canada Region Champion – Langley Little League (Langley, British Columbia)

U.S. Bracket

Southwestern Region Champion – Lafayette Little League (Lafayette, La.)

Southeast Region Champion – Warner Robins American Little League (Warner Robins, Ga.)

Great Lakes Region Champion – North Oldham Little League (La Grange, Ky.)

New England Region Champion – Cumberland American Little League (Cumberland, R.I.)

Northwest Region Champion – Billings Big Sky Little League (Billings, Mont.)

Midwest Region Champion – Harney Little League (Rapid City, S.D.)

West Region Champion – Ocean View Little League (Huntington Beach, Calif.)

Mid-Atlantic Region Champion – Keystone Little League (Clinton County, Pa.)