Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2011 > May-August > Parents of Philadelphia Phillies Outfielder Shane Victorino Chosen as 2011 Little League Parents of the Year

Parents of Philadelphia Phillies Outfielder Shane Victorino Chosen as 2011 Little League Parents of the Year

Parents of Philadelphia Phillies Outfielder Shane Victorino Chosen as 2011 Little League Parents of the Year


Mike and Joycelyn Victorino

Dedication to family and community were the cornerstones of Shane Victorino’s childhood, and the Philadelphia Phillies outfielder has his parents, Mike and Joycelyn, to thank for that, which is why Little League International will honor them this August as the 2011 recipients of the George and Barbara Bush Little League Parents of the Year Award.

“What you sow is what you reap,” Mrs. Victorino, who lives in Wailuku, Maui, Hawaii, with her husband, said. “When our boys were growing up, we felt like it was our obligation and responsibility to get involved by volunteering. During Shane and Mikey’s Little League years, my husband would be a coach or manager, while I was team mom and handled my children’s team’s finances.”

“We are extremely humbled and truly grateful to receive this award,” Mr. Victorino said. “Many other Little League parents, throughout the world, are equally deserving.

“Little League emphasizes all of us working together not just to teach skills to athletes, but to nurture good young people,” Mr. Victorino said. “By being there for Shane and Michael, they recognize what we did for them growing up. For us, a role model is someone who seldom gets recognized and never asks for adulation. A real role model is not an athlete, politician or rock star … They are every-day people.”

Mr. and Mrs. Victorino will be recognized during a breakfast and on-field ceremony at the 2011 Little League Baseball World Series in South Williamsport, Pa.  The 65th World Series will be played Aug. 18-28.

“I feel good that our family has accomplished a lot,” Mrs. Victorino said. “We wanted our boys to play organized sports and Shane played Little League from the time he was five, right through high school. That boy was unbelievably committed. When others were going to the beach he was going to practice or to play a game.

“I would even feel sorry for him because he gave up a lot of his fun time to play, but he understood the commitment,” she said. “We constantly reminded Mikey and Shane about good character and that every person on a team is important. Mike and I believe every person has a contribution to make to the team no matter what their capability.”

The George and Barbara Bush Little League Parents of the Year Award was established in 1980 and is presented annually to the parents of a Major League Baseball player who were actively involved in their son’s Little League experience.  The award is named in honor of the 41st President of the United States, George H.W. Bush, and former First Lady Barbara Bush.  Both were Little League volunteers during their children’s early years in Midland, Texas, and continue to support Little League today.

“Setting a consistent, positive example and accepting the responsibility of being role models is what Mike and Joycelyn Victorino have done for their children and community,” Stephen D. Keener, President and Chief Executive Officer of Little League Baseball and Softball, said. “Their expectations and support of Mike Jr. and Shane’s endeavors have guided each to appreciate the importance of self respect, character and the significance of impacting others on a daily basis. The Victorinos have stressed the importance of balance in their children’s lives, and during their time in Little League, the importance of playing baseball and having fun. We are proud to present Mr. and Mrs. Victorino with this award.”

For many years, Mr. and Mrs. Victorino have volunteered their time to several organizations, including the Central Maui Little League in Wailuku, when their sons played. Volunteering is what the Victorinos do, whether in Little League, the local Parent Teacher Association (PTA), Muscular Dystrophy telethons or Relay for Life, Boy Scouts and Knights of Columbus to name a few.

During their time in Central Maui Little League, Mike Jr. played for the White Sox, while Shane was a member of the Cubs.


Shane Victorino

“I coached in Little League, but I got my start as an umpire,” Mr. Victorino said. “Team sports such as Little League teaches children how to practice and prepare. Everyone must contribute for the team to be successful and that is the essence of life. Little League uses strong support and a family structure to bring together desire and focus, and shows young people how to work as team.”

Even though their son has been a National League Champion (Phillies 2008, 2010); World Champion (Phillies 2008); three-time Gold Glove winner (2008, 09, 10) and two-time MLB All-Star (2009, 2011), the Victorinos are most proud of Shane’s 2010 selection as the Phillies’ Good Guy Award winner and the management of his Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD).

“Shane has never been happier,” Mrs. Victorino said. “He likes his teammates and respects Mr. (Charlie) Manuel (Phillies Manager) and Mr. (Ruben) Amaro (Senior Vice President, Phillies General Manager). They emphasize the positives which is what we have done ever since Shane was diagnosed with ADHD.

“As Shane got older he learned to manage and cope with his ADHD,” Mrs. Victorino said. “My husband and I looked at it not as a disability, but as a challenge. When he played, he always played with intensity, and we’re so proud of how he has channeled his energy and focus.”

More than the recognition of one set of parents annually, the George and Barbara Bush Parents of the Year Award is designed to be a symbolic recognition of the millions of mothers and fathers who each year respond to the call of parental duty and help provide a wholesome and healthy arena for leadership training for the children of their respective communities.


Mike Victorino (center, second row) and his wife, Joycelyn (middle, front row), the 2011 George and Barbara Bush Little League Parents of the year Award recipients, and their other sons, Mikey (first from left in back row) and younger brother, Shane (second from right in back row), are pictured here with their families.

Past Recipients of the George and Barbara Bush Little League Parents of the Year Award
1981-Mr. & Mrs. Jack Schmidt (Mike Schmidt)
1982-Mr. & Mrs. Joseph Garvey (Steve Garvey)
1983-Mr. & Mrs. John Hernandez (Keith Hernandez)
1984-Mr. & Mrs. Max Palmer (Jim Palmer)
1985-Mr. & Mrs. James Carter (Gary Carter)
1986-Mr. & Mrs. Charles Murphy (Dale Murphy)
1987-Mr. & Mrs. Lynn Nolan Ryan, Sr. (Nolan Ryan)
1988-Mr. & Mrs. Orel Hershiser, Jr. (Orel Hershiser)
1989-Mr. & Mrs. Carl Yastrzemski (Carl Yastrzemski)
1990-Mr. & Mrs. Warren Scott (Mike Scott)
1991-Mr. & Mrs. Tony Drabek (Doug Drabek)
1992-Mr. & Mrs. Frank Dravecky (Dave Dravecky)
1993-Mr. & Mrs. Frank Thomas (Frank Thomas)
1994-Mr. & Mrs. John Olerud (John Olerud)
1995-Mr. & Mrs. Leonard Greenwell (Mike Greenwell)
1996-Mr. & Mrs. Malcolm Mussina (Mike Mussina)
1997-Mr. &  Mrs. Lee Caminiti (Ken Caminiti)
1998-Dr. John & Mrs. Ginger McGwire (Mark McGwire)
1999-Mr. & Mrs. Charles Jeter (Derek Jeter)
2001-Mr. & Mrs. Carlos Delgado (Carlos Delgado) 
2002-Mr. & Mrs. Eddie Hoffman (Trevor Hoffman)
2003-Mr. & Mrs. Joe Varitek (Jason Varitek)
2004-Mr. & Mrs. Charles Johnson, Sr. (Charles Johnson)
2005-Mr. & Mrs. Jose Valentin, Sr. (Jose & Javier Valentin)
2006-Ms. Joyce Guy (Dontrelle Willis)
2007-Mr. & Mrs. Gene Bonderman (Jeremy Bonderman)
2008-Mr. & Mrs. Richard Verlander (Justin Verlander)
2009-Mr. & Mrs. Dwight Inge (Brandon Inge)
2010-Mrs. Margie Sabathia-Lanier (CC Sabathia)