Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2011 > January-April > Umpires Selected for Eight Little League World Series

Umpires Selected for Eight Little League World Series

Umpires Selected for Eight Little League World Series

WS Umpire Photo

The umpires who will be working the eight Little League World Series have been selected after going through a lengthy and stringent selection process. Appointment as a member of the umpiring crew for a World Series is the highest honor Little League Baseball and Softball can bestow on an umpire.

The process for selection to work a World Series includes the umpire being nominated by a District Administrator to the regional office. The regional office, along with the region’s Umpire-In-Chief, considers all umpires nominated before selecting those who most closely meet the criteria for selection.

To be considered for selection, an umpire must have previously worked a recent regional in the same Little League division as the World Series they are being considered for. Regional Tournament experience at a division different than the World Series level requested is also considered when making the selection.

An umpire is eligible to be selected for a World Series assignment once every four years.

Selection as an umpire at any of Little League’s eight World Series means that person has reached the highest level of proficiency and by virtue of their selection is considered among the best in the world.

Each year, thousands of umpires officiate games with most not receiving any pay. Umpires who are selected to work a World Series are not reimbursed for their travel expenses.

Little League Baseball and Softball is the world’s largest organized youth sports program, with more than 2.5 million players and 1 million adult volunteers in every U.S. state and scores of other countries.

The list of umpires at each of the eight sites follows.

2011 Little League Baseball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 18-28; South Williamsport, Pa.)

Name (Place of Residence)

Lee Batterman (Fountain Valley, Calif.); Frank Bergfield (Dhahran, Saudi Arabia); Sam Fontecchio (Ironwood, Mich.); John Hosler (Fredericksburg, Va.); Toby Hoy (Corona, Calif.); Curtis Jackson (Winchester, Tenn.); James Meurer (Naperville, Ill.); Randolph Myers (Turin, N.Y.); Terry Parker (Jerrell, Texas); Richard Pothier (North Adams, Mass.); Nancy Prieto-Garcia (Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico); Tom Rawlings (Camp Hill, Pa.); Rob Ruhle (Madison, Wis.); Roger Shaw (North Vancouver, B.C.); Mark Sitterly (Columbia, S.C.); Ken Snyder (Eagle Pass, Texas).

2011 Junior League Baseball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 14-20; Taylor, Mich.)

Name (Place of Residence)

Charles Baker (Martinsburg, W.Va.); Arlin Bedell (Salem, Ore.); Giovanny Boscan-Martienez (Maracaibo, Venezuela); Larry Friedman (Coral Springs, Fla.); Steve Hilgendorf (West Allis, Wis.); Alton Hitchcock (Fountain Valley, Calif.); Marcin Mankowski (Kutno, Poland); Joseph Markham (Baytown, Texas); Carl Pelletier (Bristol, Conn.); Anthony Russo (Jefferson, Md.); Steven Wagner (Demotte, Ind.); Brian Whitnack (Lethbridge, Alberta); Roger Woolf (Uvalde, Texas).

2011 Senior League Baseball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 14-20; Bangor, Maine)

Name (Place of Residence)

Dominick Boncore (San Mateo, Calif.); Richard Fronheiser (Columbus, Wis.); James Haibon (Phillipston, Mass.); Floyd Harris (Bristol, Tenn.); Eric Lindbloom (Horsham, Pa.); Harold Mabe (Mountain City, Tenn.); David Moore (Kailua, Hawaii); Denis Morin (Rouyn-Noranda, Quebec); Jaime Rosario-Perez (Cayey, Puerto Rico); Anthony Stepp Jr. (Clarksville, Ind.); Richard Wagoner (Peyton, Colo.); Edward Zalewski (Sugar Land, Texas).

2011 Big League Baseball World Series Umpiring Crew (July 27-Aug. 3; Easley, S.C.)

Name (Place of Residence)

Thomas Bice (Ft. Wayne, Ind.); Kacy Bondy (Sterling, Va.); Larry Brewer (Dowagiac, Mich.); Giovanny De Jesus-Guerrero (Maracaibo, Venezuela); Steve Fensch (Cherry Hill, N.J.); Robert Froese (San Jose, Calif.); Carl Louvet (Melvindale, Mich.); Richard Ranalli Sr. (Jersey City, N.J.); Thomas Rivera (Sorrento, Fla.); Michael Rodenbucher (Wauna, Wash.); Lanny Thibodeaux (Hempstead, Texas); John Wilson (Plano, Texas).

2011 Little League Softball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 11-17; Portland, Ore.)

Name (Place of Residence)

David Byars (Plant City, Fla.); Ralph Draper (Wilmington, Del.); Marlon Anthony Elisabeth (Willemstad, Curacao); Justin Farr (Bardstown, Ky.); Ira Gotte (Clintwood, Va.); Jeffrey Holliday (Catskill, N.Y.); Martin Hoover (Hesperia, Calif.); Gary Mercer (Austin, Texas); Linda Newton (Vancouver, Wash.); Richard Roberts (Bucyrus, Ohio); Amando Sauceda (Tilden, Texas); Gregory Stilwell (Terryville, Conn.).

2011 Junior League Softball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 14-20; Kirkland, Wash.)

Name (Place of Residence)

Glenn Adoptie (Bonaire, The Netherlands); Lowell Bise (Honaker, Va.); Johnny Chavez (Bosque Farms, N.M.); Kerry Cripe (Goshen Ind.); Brian Doughty (Utica, Ill.); Glenn Fox (Bar Mills, Maine); Kate Hart (Danville, Calif.); Jerry Krebs (Fayetteville, Texas); Steven Lewis (Tampa, Fla.); David Pemberton (Ironton, Ohio); Terry Thompson (Portland, Ore.); Sherman Wallen (West Newton, Mass.).

2011 Senior League Softball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 7-13; Lower Sussex, Del.)

Name (Place of Residence)

Anthony Baumann (Fredericksburg, Texas); Marc Boissel (Attleboro, Mass.); John Coppola (Vero Beach, Fla.); Joel Ewan (San Diego, Calif.); Luis Ocasio-Arroyo (Las Piedas, Puerto Rico); Adolph Perea Jr. (Albuquerque, N.M.); Billy Plomatos (Pinellas Park, Fla.); Scott Sabados (Kremmling, Col.); Maureen Savitsky (Danville, Pa.); Vicki Sodardo (Tiburon, Calif.); Don Steffen (Burlington, Wis.); Tommy Thompson (Woodland Hills, Calif.).

2011 Big League Softball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 4-10; Kalamazoo, Mich.)

Name (Place of Residence)

George Carroll (Moyock, N.C.); Richard Clark (Troutdale, Ore.); Lisa Dilullo (Milford, Conn.); Tim Ersch (Fredericksburg, Texas); Juan Figueroa-Galarza (Villalba, Puerto Rico); Allan Holody (South Bend, Ind.); Michael Mayer Jr. (Los Angeles, Calif.); Joe Nelson Jr. (San Antonio, Texas); Daniel Siok (Milford, Del.); Scott Steinmetz (Bothell, Wash.); Harold Wangler (West Branch, Mich.); Kevin Yochum (Ft. Myers, Fla.).