Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2010 > May - August > Plymouth/New Hope (Minn.) Little League Earns Berth in Little League Baseball World Series Capturing Midwest Title

Plymouth/New Hope (Minn.) Little League Earns Berth in Little League Baseball World Series Capturing Midwest Title

Plymouth/New Hope (Minn.) Little League Earns Berth in Little League Baseball World Series Capturing Midwest Title


2010 Little League Baseball World Series Schedule and Bracket 
2010 World Series Media Credential Form

Plymouth/New Hope (Minn.) Little League claimed the Midwest Region Championship, 8-3, over Rapid City, South Dakota’s Canyon Lake Little League Saturday at Stokely Field in Indianapolis.

For the Midwest Region Champions, Taylor Blustin and Colin Quinn keyed the offense in a four-run fourth inning.

Building on a 3-1 lead through three innings, Blustin, who finished the game with four runs batted, hit the ninth pitch of his at-bat against losing pitcher Sam Haug to the opposite field and over the left-field fence for a three-run home run. Quinn followed with a solo home run off of Haug, as the team from Minnesota extended its advantage to 7-1.

Nick Tuel scattered three hits and struck out three in the complete-game victory.

Earlier in the Midwest Region Tournament, Plymouth/New Hope (Minn.) Little League defeated Canyon Lake Little League, 12-1, in five innings.

The Plymouth/New Hope Little League squad earned a spot in the championship game with a 15-2 victory in the semifinals over Daniel Boone American Little League from Columbia, Mo. Canyon Lakes Little League was a 7-2 winner over Grandview Little League from Des Moines, Iowa in its semifinal contest.

Plymouth/New Hope Little League won all six of its games in the tournament played at Little League’s Central Regional Headquarters, the Ruben F. Glick Little League Center. There were six state champions in the six-day tournament.

This will be the sixth time the state of Minnesota will be represented in the Little League Baseball World Series and the first since Coon Rapids National Little League reached the Series in 2007.

Plymouth/New Hope Little League will be in Pool B for the first round of World Series play. They will play the Southwest Region Champion, Pearland (Texas) White Little League, on Aug. 20 in their first game.

The 64th Little League Baseball World Series, for 11-12-year-olds, will be played in South Williamsport, Pa., Aug. 20-29. Sixteen teams from around the world will vie for the coveted title of World Champion.

There have been two changes to the tournament that will affect aspects of play and strategy.

The 16 teams are still split into four pools with the eight U.S. regional champions on one side of the bracket, opposite the eight International qualifiers. The change comes in first round play where the winner of each pool will be determined by a double-elimination format. The winners of two U.S. and International pools meet to determine who plays in the World Championship game. Previously, the top two teams in each pool advanced to the single-elimination round and those eight teams competed for the title.

The other change comes in the area of pitch count where the International Tournament rules were brought in line with the regular-season guidelines. The change means more days of rest between appearances depending on the number of pitches thrown.

The 2010 World Series is the fourth under an eight-year television contract with ESPN/ABC. All games of the World Series will be televised live, in high definition, on the ESPN family of networks or ABC. ABC will air the World Series championship game, Aug. 29 at 3 p.m., and the U.S. and International Championship games the previous day beginning with the International contest at 1 p.m. and the U.S. game to follow.

Television coverage of the Little League International Tournament began Aug. 4 with ESPN2 airing the championship game of the Big League Baseball World Series. Beginning Aug. 10, for 18 of the next 20 days, at least one game, and many times multiple games, of the International Tournament will be televised.

As has been the case since 1997, everyone can follow the road to South Williamsport for the squads from the U.S. with ESPN and its family of networks coverage of the Little League Baseball regionals. Live coverage of the semifinals and championship game at all eight regional sites began August 10.

The remaining U.S. regional finals will be televised as follows (all times eastern): Great Lakes Region (Aug. 14, 5 p.m., Indianapolis, Ind., ESPN); New England Region (Aug. 14, 7 p.m., Bristol, Conn., ESPN); Northwest Region (Aug. 14, 9 p.m., San Bernardino, Calif., ESPN); West Region (Aug. 15, 8 p.m., San Bernardino, Calif., ESPN2); and Mid-Atlantic Region (Aug. 16, 8 p.m., Bristol, Conn., ESPN2).

The next berths in the Little League Baseball World Series will be later today when the Great Lakes, New England and Northwest Region Tournament titles are decided.

Follow every step of the Little League Baseball World Series on the Little League web site (www.LittleLeague.org).

Little League Baseball and Softball is the world’s largest organized youth sports program, with nearly 2.6 million players and 1 million adult volunteers in every U.S. state and scores of other countries.

2010 Little League Baseball World Series

Pool B Schedule (double-elimination format)

Midwest (Plymouth/New Hope Little League, Plymouth, Minn.)


New England

Southwest (Pearland White Little League, Pearland, Texas)

Fri., Aug. 20

Game 1 - New England vs. Northwest, 1 p.m., Volunteer

Game 2 - Midwest vs. Southwest, 3 p.m., Lamade

Sat., Aug. 21

Game 9 - Loser of Game 1 vs. Loser of Game 2, 8 p.m., Lamade (elimination game)

Sun., Aug. 22

Game 14 - Winner of Game 1 vs. Winner of Game 2, 8 p.m., Lamade

Mon., Aug. 23

Loser Game 9 vs. Loser Game 10 (Pool C), noon, Lamade (crossover consolation game)

Game 18 - Loser of Game 14 vs. Winner of Game 9, 8 p.m. Lamade (elimination game)

Tues., Aug. 24

Game 22 - Winner of Game 14 vs. Winner of Game 18, 8 p.m., Lamade (possible elimination game)

Wed., Aug. 25

Game 24 - Winner of Game 22 vs. Loser of Game 22, 4 p.m., Lamade (if necessary/elimination game/winner of this game wins pool advancing to U.S. title game)

2010 Little League Baseball World Series Field

Pool A – Southeast Champion, Columbus Northern Little League, Columbus, Ga.

Pool B - Midwest Champion, Plymouth/New Hope Little League, Plymouth, Minn.

Pool B - Southwest Champion, Pearland White Little League, Pearland, Texas

Pool C - Europe Champion, Kaiserslautern Military Community American Little League, Ramstein Air Base, Germany

Pool C - Mexico Champion, Oriente Little League, Nuevo Laredo, Tamaulipas

Pool C - Caribbean Champion, Jose M. Rodriguez Little League, Manati, Puerto Rico

Pool C - Japan Champion, Edogawa Minami Little League, Tokyo, Japan

Pool D - Latin America Champion, Chitre Little League, Chitre, Panama

Pool D - Middle East and Africa Champion, Arabian American Little League, Dhahran, Saudi Arabia

Pool D - Asia-Pacific Champion, Fu-Hsing Little League, Kaohsiung, Chinese Taipei

Pool D – Canada Champion, Little Mountain Little League, Vancouver, British Columbia