Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2010 > January - April > Umpires Selected for the Eight Little League Baseball and Softball World Series

Umpires Selected for the Eight Little League Baseball and Softball World Series

Umpires Selected for the Eight Little League Baseball and Softball World Series


The umpires who will be working the eight Little League World Series have been selected after going through a lengthy and stringent selection process.  Appointment as a member of the umpiring crew for a World Series is the highest honor Little League Baseball and Softball can bestow on an umpire.

The process for selection to work a World Series includes the umpire being nominated by a District Administrator to the regional office.  The regional office, along with the region’s Umpire-In-Chief, considers all umpires nominated before selecting those who most closely meet the criteria for selection.

To be considered for selection, an umpire must have previously worked a recent regional in the same Little League division as the World Series they are being considered for.  Regional Tournament experience at a division different than the World Series level requested is also considered when making the selection.

An umpire is eligible to be selected for a World Series assignment once every four years.

Selection as an umpire at any of Little League’s eight World Series means that person has reached the highest level of proficiency and by virtue of their selection is considered among the best in the world.

Each year, thousands of umpires officiate games with most not receiving any pay.  Umpires who are selected to work a World Series are not reimbursed for their travel expenses.

Little League Baseball and Softball is the world’s largest organized youth sports program, with nearly 2.6 million players and 1 million adult volunteers in every U.S. state and scores of other countries.

The list of umpires at each of the eight sites follows, with name and place of residence.

2010 Little League Baseball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 20-29; S. Williamsport, Pa.)
Rob Bleggi (Shelton, Conn.); Michael Bute (St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands); Ted Collins II (Marietta, Ga.); Kenneth Garrison (League City, Texas); Patrick Griffin (Galesburg, Mich.); Dennis Hockensmith (Boonsboro, Md.); Michael Kincaid (Prescott Valley, Ariz.); Jeffrey Knoebel (Charlestown, Ind.); Stephen Meyer (Hamilton, Ontario); Kenju Ogyu (Hong Kong, China); Keith Petersen (Coventry, R.I.); Robert Scherzer (Rockport, Texas); Rene Sedillo (Corrales, N.M.); Jerry Westfall  (Grass Valley, Calif.); Clifton Yaguchi (Pearl City, Hawaii); Richard Zohler (Orlando, Fla.).

2010 Junior League Baseball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 15-21; Taylor, Mich.)
Lowell Brummett (Mechanicsville, Va.); Jim Connelly (North Braddock, Pa.); Michael Davelaar (Oranjested, Aruba ); Brian Groves (Lethbridge, Alberta); Thomas Marshall (Escondito, Calif.); Thomas McDonald (San Antonio, Texas); Kerry McFadden (Anderson, Ind.); Kenneth Owens (Taylor, Mich.); David Tomasco (Milford, Conn.); Robert Rayburn (Houston, Texas); Harvey Waldron (Santa Ana, Calif.); Mike Wilson (Senoia, Ga.).

2010 Senior League Baseball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 15-21; Bangor, Maine)
Gary Appleberry (Chandler, Ariz.); Rebeca Berson (DeBary, Fla.); Carl Wesley Files Jr. (Millington, Md.); Paul Gagne (Taylorville, Ill.); Marc Guggino (Albuquerque, N.M.); Howard Maisey (Langley, British Columbia); Nick Marino Jr. (Bradenton, Fla.); Ernesto Taylor-Roberts (Panama City, Panama); Eric Thomas (Balley Cottage, N.Y.); Lupe Torres (Sabinal, Texas); Bryan Wild (Niles, Mich.); Douglass Williams (Laguna Niguel, Calif.).

2010 Big League Baseball World Series Umpiring Crew (July 28-Aug. 4; Easley, S.C.)
Allen Blagg (Lake City, Ark.); Ricky Elko (Crown Point, Ind.); Bryan Horne (Blountville, Tenn.); Franklin Johnson (Frederiksted, U.S. Virgin Islands); Scott Kowalski (Fredonia, N.Y.); William Meyers Sr. (Hanover, Pa.); James Parker (Lakehills, Texas); Kim Stover (Seattle, Wash.); D.J. Svacha (Caro, Mich.); Timothy Tate (Sterling, Va.); James Train (White Rock, British Columbia); Keith Wilkinson (Citrus Heights, Calif.).

2010 Little League Softball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 12-18; Portland, Ore.)
Edward Joseph de Cuba (Oranjestad, Aruba); Howard Dickson (Santa Clara, Calif.); John Edwards (Buffalo, Ky.); Butch Follett III (Varnville, S.C.); Bill Fuller (Hewitt, Texas); Jeff Horner (Fort Wayne, Ind.); Raymond Kunz (Portland, Ore.); Brenda Miller (Warwick, R.I.); Steven Muna (Tamuning, Guam); Paul Scovell (Delmar, Del.); Kyle Weir (Beaumont, Texas); Sidney Whitman (North Fort Myers, Fla.).

2010 Junior League Softball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 15-21; Kirkland, Wash.)
Clark Cole (Herman, Maine); Miles Darnall (Dade City, Fla.); Gary Eldred (Moreno Valley, Calif.); Orlando Hernandez (Coconut Creek, Fla.); Greg Hodges (Needville, Texas); Raymond Laramie (Hammond, Ind.); Fred Lesser (West Deptford, N.J.); Gilbert Poulina (Willemstad, Curacao); George Rohr (George West, Texas); Mark Saurer (Louisville, Ky.); Eric Snively (Pilot Rock, Ore.); Gerard Takiguchi (Dublin, Calif.).

2010 Senior League Softball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 8-14; Lower Sussex, Del.)
Mike Barrow (Anthony, Fla.); Kenneth Bosk (Willemstad, Curacao); Rene Cruz (Brownsville, Texas); Michael Fields  (Castlewood, Va.); Neil Gobel (Indianapolis, Ind.); Thomas Gutierrez (Fannin, Texas); William Hubacek (El Sobrante, Calif.); James Maunder (Missoula, Mont.); Joe McCord (Hammonton, N.J.); Jennifer Pollard (Albuquerque, N.M.); James Robinson (Delmar, Del.); William Twardowski (Peru, Ill.).

2010 Big League Softball World Series Umpiring Crew (Aug. 5-11; Kalamazoo, Mich.)
William Andrews (Seminole, Fla.); Robert Gadling Jr. (Alexandria, La.); Robert Gitchel (Gobles, Mich.); Jim Goodwin (Bristol, Tenn.); Ryan Goss (Indianapolis, Ind.); Richard Graves Jr. (Valley Lee, Md.); Dan Hrigora (San Diego, Calif.); Luis Lugo-Santos (Guayanilla, Puerto Rico); Thomas Soccio (Lewistown, Pa.); Charles Thomas III (Salem, Ore.); James Tremblay (Windsor, Ontario); Chris Villarreal (San Antonio, Texas).