Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2009 > May - August > Park View Little League Powers to West Region Championship, Qualifies for 63rd Little League Baseball World Series

Park View Little League Powers to West Region Championship, Qualifies for 63rd Little League Baseball World Series

Park View Little League Powers to West Region Championship, Qualifies for 63rd Little League Baseball World Series


Park View Little League from Chula Vista, Calif., collected only six hits, but four of those hits were towering home runs, in its 11-4 win over Loomis-Eureka Lakeside Little League from Granite Bay, Calif., on Sunday night, in the West Region Championship at Al Houghton Stadium in San Bernardino, Calif.

Despite the impressive big flies, Park View Little League broke the game open in the fifth inning by turning four walks into five runs for an 8-3 lead. Bradley Roberto drove in two runs with the only hit in the inning, a double off of the right-field fence.

Kiko Garcia, who hit his 11th and 12th homers of the West Region Tournament, and Luke Ramirez, extended the lead with consecutive blasts in the sixth inning off of losing pitcher Connor Briare.

Park View Little League’s Andy Rios opened the game with a solo home run and Garcia hit his first homer of the night to give the Southern California representative a 3-0 after one inning.

Loomis-Eureka Lakeside Little League rallied to tie the score at 3-3 in the bottom of the third inning, highlighted by Connor Briare two-run home run.

Park View Little League, which outscored its opponents, 98-15, finished the West Region tournament with a 6-0 record, and overall is 19-2 in the 2009 Little League International Tournament. Loomis-Eureka Little League posted a 5-1 record in the regional tournament, and finished its tournament season with an overall record of 20-2.

Teams from California have participated in the Little League Baseball World Series 41 times, and won the World Series championship on five occasions. The most recent World Series title won by a team from California was in 1993, when a team from Long Beach defeated Chiriqui Little League of Panama, 3-2, in the world championship game. California has won the United States championship 15 times, including 2004, when Conejo Valley Little League of Thousand Oaks was defeated by Pabao Little League of Curacao, 5-2.

This appearance by California will be the state’s first since Rancho Buena Vista Little League won the West Region Championship in 2005.

The West Region Champion joins Northwest Region Champion, Mercer Island (Wash.) Little League;  Great Lakes Region Champion, Logan County/Russellville (Ky.) Little League; New England Region Champion, Peabody (Mass.) Western Little League; U.S. Midwest Region Champion, Urbandale (Iowa) Little League; Southeast Region Champion, Warner Robins (Ga.) America Little League; Southwest Region Champion, McAllister Park American Little League from San Antonio, Texas;  Europe Region Champion KMC American Little League from Ramstein Air base in Germany;  Middle East and Africa Region Champion, Arabian American Little League from Dhahran, Saudi Arabia; Caribbean Region Champion, Pabao Little League from Curacao in the Netherlands Antilles; Japan’s National Champion, Chiba City Little League from Tokyo; Asia-Pacific Champion, Kuei-Shan Little League from Chinese Taipei; and Latin America Region Champion, Coquivacoa Little League of Maracaibo, Venezuela, as participants in the 2009 Little League Baseball World Series. 

The 2009 Little League Baseball World Series will welcome 11-12-year-olds from around the world. Sixteen teams will compete for the World Series championship. 

The World Series championship game can be seen live on ABC at 3:30 p.m., on Sunday, Aug. 30. ABC also will televise the International Championship Game on Saturday, Aug. 29 at noon, followed by the United States championship at 3 p.m.

The 2009 World Series will be the third operated under the eight-year television contract agreement with ESPN/ABC. Five games will be televised on ABC. This will be the fourth year that all of the World Series games will be televised in high definition. For the eighth year since the tournament expanded from eight to 16 teams in 2001, every team will have games on national television.

All 32 games of the World Series will be televised again this year. Thirteen World Series games will be televised on ESPN and 14 will be televised on ESPN2. In addition, the ESPN family of networks will carry all eight of the U.S. Regional Championship finals in the Little League Baseball division. The U.S. regional finals have been televised by ESPN and ESPN2 every year since 1997. 

The final berth in the 2009 Little League Baseball World Series is expected to be decided on Monday night at the A. Bartlett Giamatti Leadership Training Center in Bristol, Conn., when the Mid-Atlantic Region championship game is played between Somerset Hills Little League from Bernardsville, N.J., and South Shore National Little League from Staten Island, N.Y.

Television coverage of the Mid-Atlantic Region championship game is scheduled to begin at 8 p.m. on ESPN2. 

Little League Baseball and Softball is the largest organized youth sports program in the world, with 2.6 million participants in all 50 states and scores of other countries.