Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

Little League Uniforms All and Snuggle Ad BombPop Ad Canon BBFactory-177 Dudley Easton Ad ilead177 Gatorade heinz-ad177 Honda Kelloggs Musco Ad New Era Oakley Russell Ad SBFactory-177 Spalding Subway Velveeta
 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2009 > May - August > 2009 Little League Award Winners

2009 Little League Award Winners

2009 Little League Award Winners


Each year, Little League International encourages its districts and leagues around the world to nominate individuals deserving of recognition for their commitment to, and impact on, the Little League program. Participation in the Awards Program helps demonstrate the benefits and values of volunteerism, family and sportsmanship. The Little League Awards program recipients are recognized annually at the Little League Baseball World Series in South Williamsport, Pa.

Traveling to Williamsport as honored guest of Little League International, the 2009 Little League Baseball Awards Program recipients were presented with their awards during the annual breakfast held at the Genetti Hotel in Williamsport, and later were recognized during World Series pre-game ceremonies.


The 2009 Little League Awards Program recipients were recognized on Thursday, Aug. 27, at the Genetti Hotel in Williamsport, Pa. Among those honored at the annual breakfast were: (front row, left to right) Reece Lisle, Reid Lisle, Dieter Miller (Good Sport of the Year), Linda Inge (George and Barbara Bush Parents of the Year), Frank Velasquez (Urban Initiative Volunteer of the Year), Dr. Davie Jane Gilmour (President of Penn College, Chairman-elect of the Little League International Board of Directors), Stephen D. Keener (President and Chief Executive Officer of Little League Baseball and Softball); and (back row, left to right) Dennis Lewin (Chairman of Little League International Board of Directors, Chrissy Lisle (Mom of the Year), Michael Shutler (Little League Volunteer of the Year), Marilyn Wittstock (Challenger Award Winner), Dwight Inge (George and Barbara Bush Parents of the Year).

Below is a series of stories about each award receipient.