Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2008 > Team Hosts Play Major Role in Players’ Experience

Team Hosts Play Major Role in Players’ Experience

Team Hosts Play Major Role in Players’ Experience

WILLIAMSPORT, Pa. (June 10, 2008) – Team hosts, or “uncles” and “aunts,” as they are commonly called, are dedicated volunteers who play a major role in every player’s Little League World Series experience.

Each team is assigned two team hosts who take on various responsibilities, from arranging uniform fittings, to getting teams to practice sites, to helping in the coordination of the many media activities involving the teams. These volunteers spend every day of the World Series with their assigned team from breakfast well into the night, providing guidance and assistance to the players, coaches and managers.

Many of the team hosts are so well remembered by their charges that they maintain contact for years after the players have gone back home.

The 62nd Little League Baseball World Series will be Aug. 15-24.

The host chairman is Nick Cioffi (42 years of service). Paul Fullmer in his 34th year of service, Craig Weaver (10 years), Stan Helt, Sr., and Frank Missigman (four years), Carol Weinhoffer and Mike Knight (three years), and in his second year, Willy Weber, will serve on a rotating basis.

The 2008 Little League Baseball World Series team hosts

Doug Alexander (four years of service)
Carol Zysset (eight years of service) Japan

Joe Girio (11 years of service)
Lee Miller (eight years of service) Southwest

Mick Cioffi (32 years of service)
Denny Logan (six years of service) Southeast

Larry Missigman (17 years of service)
George Girio (21 years of service) Asia-Pacific

Fred Plankenhorn (43 years of service)
Paul Weaver (39 years of service) Northwest

Edward Weinhoffer (23 years of service)
Thomas Rachael (10 years of service) Middle East and Africa

Hess Wertz (10 years of service)
Charles Snyder (10 years of service) Canada

Walter Zegarsk i (35 years of service)
William Castle (20 years of service) Latin America

Ron Frick (six years of service)
Van Ransom (four years of service) West

Dennis Kelley (26 years of service)
Dick Reitz (25 years of service) New England

Bruce Sechrist (five years of service)
Peter M. Lupacchino (16 years of service) Great Lakes

Marlin Cromley (10 years of service)
Gary Mayers (six years of service) Mid-Atlantic

Jim Kriner (six years of service)
Bob Massetti (22 years of service) Midwest

Dennis Loner (10 years of service)
Lynn Datres (eight years of service) Mexico

Gary Weaver (10 years of service)
Daniel Ayers (eight years of service) Europe

John Eastlake (10 years of service)
Ron Wagner (eight years of service) Caribbean


Click on the image for a Hi-Res version

Pictured, from left to right, are the team hosts for the 2008 Little League Baseball World Series: (seated) Bob Massetti, Lynn Datres, Tom Rachael, Chuck Snyder, Denny Loner, Joe Girio, Marlin Cromley, Stan Helt, Nick Cioffi, and Mick Cioffi. In the second row are, from left, Paul Fullmer, Mike Knight, Carol Weinhoffer, Carol Zysset, Doug Alexander, Bill Castle, Walt Zegarski, Craig Weaver, Frank Missigman, Danny Ayers and George Girio. In the back row are , from left, Ed Weinhoffer, Gary Mayers, Lee Miller, Peter Lupacchino, Bruce Sechrist, John Eastlake, Dick Reitz, Willy Weber, Larry Missigman, Gary Weaver, Denny Logan. Not pictured: Ron Wagner, Jim Kriner, Dennis Kelley, Ron Frick, Van Ransom, Hess Wertz, Fred Plankenhorn, and Paul Weaver.