Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2008 > Maryland’s Hagerstown Federal Little League Wins Mid-Atlantic Region, Completes Field for the 2008 Little League Baseball World Series

Maryland’s Hagerstown Federal Little League Wins Mid-Atlantic Region, Completes Field for the 2008 Little League Baseball World Series

Maryland’s Hagerstown Federal Little League Wins Mid-Atlantic Region, Completes Field for the 2008 Little League Baseball World Series

Little League World Series

WILLIAMSPORT, Pa. (Aug. 11, 2008) – Zane Schreiber was 3-for-3 with a double, grand slam and a solo home run for Hagerstown Federal Little League, which won the Mid-Atlantic Region Championship, 8-3, over Devon Stafford Little League from Devon, Pa., Monday night at Breen Field in Bristol, Conn.

Hagerstown Federal Little League’s win concluded the 16 region tournaments in Little League Baseball for children league-age 11-12, and set the field for the 62nd Little League Baseball World Series. The first game of the 2008 Little League Baseball World Series is scheduled to begin on Friday at 2 p.m., and will be televised on ESPN.

Entering the title game with a 5-0 mark in the regional tournament (13-0 overall), Hagerstown Federal Little League had outscored its opponents, 48-15, with two shutouts, and already had a win over Pennsylvania to its credit.

Maryland’s Andrew Yacyk struck out six and walked one to collect the mound win. He also fueled his team’s offense with a solo home run in the bottom of the first inning. Hagerstown Federal Little League hit four home runs in the game, including back-to-back homers in the fourth inning by Schreiber and Dalton Jobe.

  The Pennsylvania state champions finished 3-3 in the six-team regional tournament and 16-4 overall. Kyle Stefanic was the losing pitcher in the championship game, allowing, six runs, on six hits.

Maryland has participated in the Little League Baseball World Series five times since Hagerstown made the state’s first appearance in 1950. Hagerstown also made the World Series in 1968, and most recently, West Salisbury (Md.) Little League won the 2007 Mid-Atlantic Region championship. The state of Maryland has never reached the World Series championship game. 

Hagerstown Federal Little League completes the field for the 2008 Little League Baseball World Series which includes, Northwest Region Champion, Mill Creek (Wash.) Little League; Great Lakes Region Champion, Jeffersonville (Ind.) Little League; Canadian National Champion, White Rock-South Surrey (British Columbia) Little League; New England Region Champion, Shelton (Conn.) National Little League; Midwest Region Champion, Canyon Lake Little League, Rapid City, S.D.; Southeast Region Champion, Citrus Park Little League, Tampa, Fla.; Southwest Region Champion, South Lake Charles (La.) Little League; Mexico National Champion, Matamoros Little League; Caribbean Region Champion, Pabao Little League, Willemstad, Curacao; Middle East and Africa (MEA) Region Champion, Arabian American Little League, Dhahran, Saudi Arabia; Asia-Pacific Region Champion, Southern Guam Little League, Yona, Guam; Latin America Region Champion, Coquivacoa Little League, Maracaibo, Venezuela; and Japan’s National Champion, Edogawa Minami Little League, Tokyo. 

The Little League Baseball World Series for 11-12-year-olds will be played in Williamsport, Aug. 15-24. Sixteen teams from around the world will take part. 

The World Series championship game can be seen live on ABC at 3:30 p.m., on Sunday, Aug. 24. ABC also will televise the International Championship Game on Saturday, Aug. 23 at 12:30 p.m., followed by the United States championship at 3 p.m.

The 2008 World Series will be the second operated under the eight-year television contract agreement with ESPN/ABC. Five games will be televised on ABC. This will be the third year that all of the World Series games will be televised in high definition. For the seventh year since the tournament expanded from eight to 16 teams in 2001, every team will have games on national television.

All 32 games of the World Series will be televised again this year. Fifteen World Series games will be televised on ESPN and 11 will be televised on ESPN2. 

In addition, the ESPN family of networks carried all eight of the U.S. Regional Championship finals in the Little League Baseball division. The U.S. regional finals have been televised by ESPN and ESPN2 every year since 1997. 

Little League International also formed a unique relationship with the New England Sports Network (NESN) and Madison Square Garden Network (MSG) to televise early-round games in the New England and Mid-Atlantic regional tournaments in Bristol, Conn.