Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2007 > Nine Field Directors Nominated for Election to Little League International Board of Directors

Nine Field Directors Nominated for Election to Little League International Board of Directors

WILLIAMSPORT, Pa. (April 16, 2007) – At the 24th Little League International Congress in Houston, Texas, nine field directors were nominated by their region’s volunteers to serve a three-year term as a member of the Little League International Board of Directors.

Ana Florencia Piñeros de Pelaez of Barranquilla, Colombia, representing the Latin American Region, is the third female to be nominated for a seat on the board directors, joining current members Dr. Davie Jane Gilmour and Sally John. Mrs. Piñeros de Pelaez is the first female district administrator (DA) to be nominated for election, a position she has held for 20 years.

Joining Mrs. Piñeros de Pelaez as field directors nominated from international regions are Kenji Kimura (Asia and Pacific Region) from Tokyo, Japan; Douglas MacKenzie (Canada Region) of Nova Scotia, Canada; and Italy’s Giuseppe Guilizzoni (Europe, Middle East and Africa Region).

Nominated to represent Little League Baseball and Softball’s five regions in the United States are, John Roll (Central); David Ruotolo (East); Paul Flanagan (South); Ferris Maness (southwest) and Robert Fleming (West).

Mr. Kimura, a senior management director for Mitsui and Co. Ltd., has served as a district administrator for six years.

A district administrator for seven years, Mr. MacKenzie has been a newspaper editor for 14 years, but got his start in Little League as child. Serving as a coach and manager, he has also volunteered as an umpire, and served as a director and eastern vice president for Little League Canada.

The EMEA Region will have Mr. Guilizzoni, who works in the engineering field, as its board representative.

Mr. Roll, a native of Kentucky, played his first Little League season in 1951. Following graduation from the program his volunteer service has included time as a coach, manager, league president, assistant district administrator, and has been a district administrator for 18 years. He also has served on the Central Region Advisory Committee.

Living in Connecticut, Mr. Ruotolo has served as District 4 administrator for 16 years. Before his election as DA, he was a player agent, vice president and president for his home league. Mr. Ruotolo works in the screen printing and embroidery industry.

Volunteering as a coach, manager, umpire, league president, assistant DA, Mr. Flanagan from West Virginia has served as a district administrator for 16 years.

Mr. Maness from Texas district 15 has been district administrator for 10 years. A local league president before joining the district staff, Mr. Maness is a Little League graduate who grew up to be professional pipe fitter in Fresno, Texas.

A director of student services in Las Vegas, Nev., Mr. Fleming started his volunteer service as a coach. He held several local league positions before his election as Nevada district 2 administrator - a position he has occupied for 20 years.

The nine nominees were selected by their fellow volunteers during regional meetings convened at the International Congress. The nominations will be considered when the Little League Board of Directors gathers for its annual meeting in November.

NOTE: A high-resolution photo of the nominees to the Little League International Board of Directors can be downloaded at:


Nine field directors, representing nine regions, were recommended for appointment to the Little League International Board of Directors. The new members of the board were nominated at the 24th Little League International Congress in Houston, Texas. The new board members, from left to right are: Giuseppe Guiuzzoni (Europe, Middle East and Africa Region); Douglas MacKensie (Canada Region); Kenji Kimura (Asia and Pacific Region); Paul Flanagan (Southern Region); Ferris Maness (Southwestern Region); Ana Florencia Piñeros de Pelaez (Latin America Region); Robert Fleming (Western Region); David Ruotolo (Eastern Region); and John Roll (Central Region).