Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2001 > IOWA, LOUISIANA EARN BERTHS IN LITTLE LEAGUE WORLD SERIES


WILLIAMSPORT, Pa. (Aug. 12, 2001) - Teams from Iowa and Louisiana won their respective regional titles Sunday night, earning berths in the Little League Baseball World Series, Aug. 17-26.

Davenport (Iowa) East Little League defeated Centennial Lakes Little League of Circle Pines, Minn., 4-3, on Stokely Field at the Ruben F. Glick Little League Center in Indianapolis for the Midwest Region title. In St. Petersburg, Fla, at Arnold S. White, Sr. Stadium, South Lake Charles (La.) Little League defeated Oak Ridge Woodlands Area Little League of The Woodlands, Texas, 6-5.

Davenport pitcher Chris Kolar went the distance, scattering six hits and fanning nine. Davenport East makes a rare return trip to Williamsport, a feat accomplished by only 14 other leagues in the 55-year history of the Little League Baseball World Series. The players returning to Williamsport for Davenport are Kolar, Tim O'Donnell and Shane White.

South Lake Charles battled back from a 5-3 deficit, with Dylan Guillot delivering the game-winning RBI single in the top of the seventh inning. Louisiana relief pitcher Myrio Richard came on in the bottom half of the seventh, with no outs and runners at second and third, to strike out the side. Taylor Parr had a grand slam to account for most of the Texas offense. Louisiana has sent teams to Williamsport twice, in 1955 and '92. South Lake Charles was the entry in 1992, but no Louisiana team has reached the world championship game.

Ten other berths have been determined for the Little League Baseball World Series: Khovrino Little League, Moscow, Russia (Europe Region); Apopka National Little League of Apopka, Fla. (Southeast Region); Guam Central Little League, Hagatna, Guam (Pacific Region); Brownsburg Little League of Brownsburg, Ind. (Great Lakes Region); Tokyo Kitasuna Little League of Tokyo, Japan (Asia Region); Calgary West Little League of Alberta, Canada (Canada Region); Club Activo 20-30 Little League of Santiago de Veraguas, Panama (Latin America Region); Pariba Little League of Willemstad, Curacao, Netherlands Antilles (Caribbean Region); Matamoros Little League of Matamoros, Mexico (Mexico Region): and Arabian-American Little League of Dhahran, Saudi Arabia (Transatlantic Region). 

Two games of the Little League Baseball World Series (for players 11-12 years old) will be televised on ABC rather than the single championship game as has been the case since 1963. The championship game of the World Series can be seen live on ABC-TV at 6:30 p.m., on Sunday, Aug. 26 - the first prime-time telecast of the championship game. ABC will also televise the U.S. title game on Saturday, August 25, at 4:30 p.m. 

President George W. Bush will attend the championship game in Williamsport on Aug. 26, and will be enshrined into the Hall of Excellence of the Peter J. McGovern Little League Museum in ceremonies before the game. President Bush is the first Little League graduate to be elected president, and will be the first chief executive to visit the Little League Baseball World Series.

Admission for the Little League Baseball World Series is free, and tickets are not required.