Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2003 > First U.S. Teams in Little League World Series to be Determined

First U.S. Teams in Little League World Series to be Determined

WILLIAMSPORT, Pa. (Aug. 9, 2003) – Tonight, before a live nationwide audience on ESPN2, the first two U.S. teams to earn berths in the 57th Little League Baseball World Series will be known.

At Arnold S. White, Sr. Stadium in St. Petersburg, Fla., site of the Little League Baseball Southern Region Headquarters, Buckhead Little League of Atlanta faces East Boynton Beach (Fla.) Little League for the right to advance to Williamsport. Game time for the Southeast Region final is 6 p.m..

Although Florida teams have made it to the World Series 19 times and seven have reached the world championship game, none has ever won the world title. Georgia’s lone trip to the World Series in 1983 ended with a world championship for East Marietta National Little League.

In the Great Lakes Region final at Stokely Field at the Ruben F. Glick Little League Center in Indianapolis, Tallmadge (Ohio) Little League takes on Midland (Mich.) Northeast Little League at 8 p.m.

Randy Keen, manager of the Tallmadge team this year, played on the Tallmadge team the last time the league made it to the Little League Baseball World Series, in 1974. Although seven Ohio teams have reached the Series, none has ever made it to the final game.

Michigan’s last trip to Williamsport was in 1998, and its only world championship came in 1959 when Hamtramck National Little League defeated a team from Auburn, Calif., 12-0.

The Little League Baseball World Series for 11-12-year-olds will be played in Williamsport beginning on Friday and ending Aug. 24. Sixteen teams from around the world will take part.

The final International Pool berth in the Little League Baseball World Series will be decided tonight in Sydney, Nova Scotia. Moose Jaw (Saskatchewan) Little League plays Glace Bay (Nova Scotia) Little League for the Canada Region title.
Last year’s Canadian champion, North Regina Little League of Saskatchewan, was the first team from the Prairies to reach the World Series. Glace Bay has been to the Series four times (1987, ’88, ’91 and ’94), but no Canadian team has ever won the world championship.

Seven other teams have already earned berths in this year’s Little League Baseball World Series: Olmeca Little League of Mexico City (Mexico Region); Khovrino Little League of Moscow, Russia (Europe Region); Arabian American Little League of Dhahran, Saudi Arabia (Transatlantic Region); Altagracia Little League of Altagracia, Venezuela (Latin America Region); Pabao Little League of Willemstad, Curacao, Netherlands Antilles (Caribbean Region); Musashi Fuchu Little League of Tokyo, Japan (Asia Region) and Central Little League of Agana, Guam (Pacific Region).

The remaining U.S. region finals, all of which will be televised live on ESPN2, are: Midwest (Indianapolis, Sunday, 6 p.m.); Southwest (Waco, Texas, Sunday, 8 p.m.); New England (Bristol, Conn., Monday, 8 p.m.); Northwest (San Bernardino, Calif., Monday, 10 p.m.); Mid-Atlantic (Bristol, Conn., Tuesday, 8 p.m.), and West (San Bernardino, Calif., Tuesday, 10 p.m.).

ABC will televise the Little League Baseball World Series U.S. championship game on Aug. 23, at 7:30 p.m. The world championship game of the Little League Baseball World Series (for 11-12-year-olds) can be seen live on ABC at 6:30 p.m., on Aug. 24. Twelve World Series games will be televised on ESPN and 13 will be televised on ESPN2, bringing the total televised games to a record 27.

Little League Baseball is the largest organized youth sports program in the world, with 2.8 million participants in all 50 states and 104 other countries.