Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

Little League Uniforms All and Snuggle Ad BombPop Ad Canon BBFactory-177 Dudley Easton Ad ilead177 Gatorade heinz-ad177 Honda Kelloggs Musco Ad New Era Oakley Russell Ad SBFactory-177 Spalding Subway
 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2005 > West Oahu Little League From Ewa Beach, Hawaii, Wins Northwest Championship, Advances to 2005 Little League Baseball World Series

West Oahu Little League From Ewa Beach, Hawaii, Wins Northwest Championship, Advances to 2005 Little League Baseball World Series

WILLIAMSPORT, Pa. (Aug. 15, 2005) – A team from Ewa Beach, Hawaii, completed the 16-team field for the 2005 Little League Baseball World Series by winning the Northwest Region championship Monday night, at Al Houghton Stadium on the Little League Baseball Western Region Headquarters complex, in San Bernardino, Calif.

West Oahu Little League defeated Northwest Ada Little League from Boise, Idaho, 12-1, to win the championship game and became the eighth and final U.S. region representative to earn a berth in the 59th World Series. West Oahu Little League finished the five-team regional tournament with a 6-0 record, and will represent the Northwest Region in Williamsport, Pa.

Winning pitcher Alaka’l Agipay threw a two-hitter with 11 strikeouts, and the West Oahu Little League offense, which outscored the opposition 87-19 in six regional games, produced 12 hits.

Michael Memea and Ty Tirpak each had two-run singles in a five-run first inning off of Northwest Ada Little League’s starting pitcher Ryan Wood. Agipay highlighted a three-run fifth inning with a solo home run, and Myron Enos hit a three-run home run as part of a four-run sixth inning to set the final score.

Teams from Hawaii have participated in the Little League Baseball World Series eight times, and reached the World Series championship game on one occasion. In 1988, Tai Ping Little League of Chinese Taipei defeated Pearl City, Hawaii, 10-0.

West Oahu Little League joins Council Rock Newtown Little League of Newtown, Pa.; Rancho Buena Vista Little League of Vista, Calif.; Westbrook Little League of Westbrook, Maine; Lafayette Little League of Lafayette La.; Owensboro Southern Little League of Owensboro, Ky.; Whalley Little League of Surrey, British Columbia, Canada; Davenport Northwest Little League of Davenport, Iowa; Maitland Little League of Maitland, Fla.; Arabian American Little League of Dhahran, Saudi Arabia; Brateevo Little League of Moscow, Russia; Seguro Social Little League of Mexicali, Mexico; Pabao Little League of Curacao; Los Leones Little League of Valencia, Venezuela; Chiba City Little League of Japan; and Central East Little League of Mangilao-Barrigada, Guam, as participants in the 2005 Little League Baseball World Series.

The Little League Baseball World Series for 11-12-year-olds will be played in Williamsport, Aug. 19-28. Sixteen teams from around the world will take part.

ABC will televise the Little League Baseball World Series U.S. championship game on Aug. 27, at 3:30 p.m. The world championship game of the Little League Baseball World Series can be seen live on ABC at 3:30 p.m., on Aug. 28. Twenty-seven other World Series games will be televised on ESPN or ESPN2 for a total of 29 games on national television. Three other games will be televised in ESPN Deportes marking the first time that all 32 games of the Little League Baseball World Series tournament will be on television.

Little League Baseball is the largest organized youth sports program in the world, with 2.7 million participants in all 50 states and more than 80 other countries.