Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

Active Ad All and Snuggle Ad BombPop Ad BBFactory Ad Chiquita Banana Dudley Easton Ad Eteamz Ad ilead177 Gatorade Honda Kelloggs Musco Ad New Era Oakley Russell Ad Sams Club SKLZ SBFactory Ad Spalding Subway
 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2005 > Antelope Valley, Calif., Little League Wins 2005 Big League Softball World Championship

Antelope Valley, Calif., Little League Wins 2005 Big League Softball World Championship

KALAMAZOO, Mich. (Aug. 20, 2005) – Antelope Valley (Calif.) Little League came away with the 2005 Big League Softball World Series title, defeating a team from Charleston, W.Va., at Vanderberg Park.

Sarah Kahn’s seventh inning walk-off home run gave the West Champions their second World Series title since 1996 and avenged an earlier 2-1 loss to Charleston in pool play. The championship game was televised on ESPN2.

The South Region champions tied the game, 2-2, in the top of the seventh inning setting the stage for Kahn’s homer. Allison Judy threw a complete game for the South in the loss, and Laura Calvert earned the victory for the West Region champions. Jessica Hamilton had two hits for the World Series runners-up. In addition to Kahn’s home run, Katie Cornelison had two hits for the champs, including a double.

Making up the World Series tournament field were region champions representing the West (District 51, Antelope Valley, Calif.); Europe, Middle East and Africa (EMEA; District 1, Utrecht, Netherlands); South (District 3, Charleston, W. Va.); Asia-Pacific (Manila, Philippines); District 2, Kalamazoo, Mich., the host team; Central (District 9, Grand Rapids, MI); Southwest (District 31, Hallettsville, Texas); Latin America (District 1, San Juan, PR); Canada (District 5, Windsor, Ontario); and East (District 3, Laurel, Dela.).

The semifinal round pitted the South against the Southwest, and the East versus the West. The South earned their championship game berth with a 7-2 victory over the team from Hallettsville, Texas, and the West pulled out a 5-4 win over Laurel, Del.

Kalamazoo celebrated its 25th anniversary of hosting the World Series with a picnic, “Fun Night” for the players, managers, coaches and host families, an awards banquet, a Parade of Champions and spirit competition. The team from The Netherlands took home the coveted spirit competition plaque.