Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2006 > Little League Photo Contest Award Winners Chosen 2006

Little League Photo Contest Award Winners Chosen 2006

WILLIAMSPORT, Pa. (July 25, 2006) – Joseph Nolan, of Hobe Sound, Fla., focused his camera on home plate in anticipation of a run being scored and snapped a shot of a hard slide. The photo has been voted the winner of the 2006 Little League Photo Contest.

Mr. Nolan’s winning entry was a photo of Port Salerno Little Leaguers Joseph Lambrechts and Ryan Nolan anxiously waiting on the umpire’s call on a play at home plate. Pitcher Alex Ponson is also pictured. Nolan was safe on the play that would eventually earn his team the league championship. Mr. Nolan is volunteer umpire in the Port Salerno (Fla.) Little League.

The second-place photo was taken by Patrick Armstrong, president of Jenson Beach (Fla.) Little League. The subject is his son, Brian experiencing the thrill of a season-ending victory.

Third place went to Ridgefield (Conn.) Little League Vice President Joseph Heinzmann, who captured Wilton (Conn.) Little League player Thomas Castaldi applying the tag to a Ridgefield Little League player, as he slides into second base during the Connecticut District 1 Major Division Tournament.

Little League volunteers from across the United States send in entries that are evaluated at Little League International and three winners are selected. This is the ninth year the contest has been conducted.

The three winning photographs, selected from more than 100 entries, will be on display at the Peter J. McGovern Little League Museum, with the top photographs from the past eight contests.

Voting is conducted by part- and full-time employees at Little League International in Williamsport. Each of the winning photos can be viewed on the Internet at Little League’s website: www.littleleague.org.
First place: Joseph Nolan, Hobe Sound, Fla.
Second place: Patrick Armstrong, Stuart, Fla.
Third place: Joseph Heinzman, Ridgefield, Conn.