Concussions in Youth Athletes - Louisiana
The Louisiana law (Louisiana Youth Concussion Act) can be found at section 1299.181 through 1299.185 of the Louisiana Code, under the title relating to public health. (La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 1299.181 through 1299.185)
Louisiana law requires that: public and nonpublic schools provide information to coaches, students, parents and others about concussions before the start of each school year; coaches receive annual concussion education; and prior to any athletic participation by a student, parents/guardians must sign a concussion information sheet. All private clubs or recreation facilities and youth athletic leagues must also provide concussion information, annual concussion training to coaches, and as a condition of participation, youth athlete and parental/guardian acknowledgement of receipt of the concussion information sheet. The statute defines youth athletic activity as an organized athletic activity where the majority of those participating are 7 years of age or older and under 19 years of age, and are engaging in an organized athletic competition against another team, club or entity or in practice. Any youth athlete suspected of sustaining a concussion must be immediately removed from the activity and they may not return to the activity until cleared in writing by a health care professional for full or graduated return to play. A coach is required to notify a youth athlete’s parent/guardian of a suspected concussion. The act also provides that the office of public health will make available to the general public information on concussions.
The official versions of sections 1299.181 through 1299.185 are currently available online at:
http://legis.la.gov/Legis/LawSearch.aspx(Search Revised Statutes and search concussion).
The following websites offer additional information regarding Louisiana concussion law: