Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

Active Ad All and Snuggle Ad BombPop Ad BBFactory Ad Chiquita Banana Dudley Easton Ad Eteamz Ad ilead177 Gatorade Honda Kelloggs Musco Ad New Era Oakley Russell Ad Sams Club SKLZ SBFactory Ad Spalding Subway
 > Little League Online > Learn More > Programs > Child Protection Program > Concussions in Youth Athletes

Concussions in Youth Athletes

Forty nine (49) states and the District of Columbia have enacted laws which address concussions and protect the health and safety of young athletes. Little League Baseball Incorporated (LLB) has complied a summary of all currently existing and proposed state and federal laws regarding concussions in youth athletes.

Some laws are only applicable to school-sponsored athletics or to activities taking place on school-owned property. Some laws are applicable to all youth sports organizations, whether affiliated or not with a school district. It is strongly recommended that local leagues consult with legal counsel in its jurisdiction to determine the applicability of state laws regarding concussions to its program.

In keeping with its focus on protecting the health, safety and welfare of children, LLB strongly encourages all leagues and teams to comply with any applicable laws and to review the information and training materials on concussions which are available free of charge on the Centers For Disease Control website at:


1) As of January 9, 2014, the following thirty (30) states and the District of Columbia have no bills pending related to amending current concussion laws: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

2) As of January 9, 2014, and since the last update in July 2013, five (5) states have amended or revised their existing statutes and those changes have been incorporated into the descriptions within the statute database: Arkansas, California, New Hampshire, Ohio, and Wisconsin.

3) As of January 9, 2014, the following twenty (20) states with existing concussion statutes have pending legislation: Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

4) As of January 9, 2014, the following state does not have a concussion statute: Mississippi1

1Mississippi presently has concussion legislation pending, which was introduced on January 7, 2014, and has been referred to committee (HB48).

More information on how to review an individual state’s concussion law can be found by clicking the particular state link below.

The information that follows is current up to and including January 9, 2014.