You Make the Call – Strike Three, Play at the Plate
Intermediate (50-70) Division/Junior/Senior/Big League Baseball
Situation: Runner on third base. Two outs. Two strikes on the batter. The pitcher begins his windup, and at the same time, the runner on third base breaks for home. As the runner begins to slide into home plate, the pitched ball hits the runner. In the umpire's judgment, the ball was in the strike zone when it touched the runner. The umpire calls the pitch a strike and does not count the run. Should the run count?
Answer: To address this situation, we reference Baseball Rule 6.05 (m). In Intermediate (50-70) Division, Junior, Senior and Big League Divisions, with two out, a runner on third base, and two strikes on the batter, the runner attempts to steal home base on a legal pitch and the ball touches the runner in the batter’s strike zone. The umpire shall call “Strike Three,” the batter is out and the run shall not count. In the scenario, the umpire adjudged the ball to be in the strike zone when it touched the runner. The umpire called the pitch a strike, which was the third strike. The batter is out, making it the third out in the inning and the run doesn’t count.
If there are less than two outs, and the same situation occurs, the umpire shall call “Strike Three,” the ball is dead, and the run counts.
© 2015 Little League International. All rights reserved.
Fairball | March 2015 | URC | Registry