Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Learn More > Newsletters > Fairball Newsletter > 2012 > Fairball - December 2012 > Stump the Ump December 2012

Stump the Ump December 2012


1. During their pregame inspections, the umpires discover that Joey’s bat does not meet the specifications per Rule 1.10. The umpire ejects Joey from the game and limits the team to only one adult base coach for the game. Right or Wrong.

2. With runners on first and second base with less than two outs, the batter hits a declared infield fly that is coming down directly on second base. The runner on second base stands perfectly still, while maintaining contact with the base, so as to not interfere with the defensive player trying to catch the ball but the runner is hit by the infield fly. The defensive manager wants the runner on second called out for being hit by a fair batted ball and the batter called out on the infield fly. The umpire calls time and declares the batter out on the infield fly but allows the runners to remain on first and second. Right or Wrong

3. Runner on second base, two outs, and the batter hits a single to right field. The runner, from second, in trying to score, rounds third base and goes way out of the baseline from third to home and scores, just as the catcher is fielding the ball from the fielder. The defensive manager protests that the runner was out of the base line and should be called out and that no run be scored. Umpire allows the run to score. Right or Wrong

4. With runners on first and third base, and two outs, the batter hits a single to center field. The runner on third scores and the runner on first base is thrown out at third base for the third out of the inning. As the team is leaving the field, the defensive manager tells the second baseman, who has not left fair territory, to take the ball to second base and appeal to the umpire that the runner from first base do not touch second base on his way to third. The umpire up holds the appeal and calls the runner from first out for failing to touch second and declares that no run scores. Right or Wrong

5. In a Little League baseball game, the bases are loaded with two outs and a two ball, two strike count on the batter. The runner on first base leaves the base before the delivered pitch reaches the batter and the umpire drops the signal flag. The batter swings at the pitch which gets by the catcher. The batter and all the runners advance safely to the next base with the runner from third scoring. After the action has stopped, the umpire calls time and states that the runner on first left early and that since everyone advanced safely, that the runner from third cannot score but is just removed to the dugout. Right or Wrong


1. Wrong – If the umpire discovers a bat in his/her pregame inspections that does not meet specifications, the only penalty is to remove the bat from the dugout, so that it cannot be used during the game.

Rule 1.10; Rule 6.06 (d).

2. Right – The batter is out on the infield fly. The ball becomes dead as soon as it makes contact (touches) the runner on second. Since the runner had contact with the base when it touched him and he did not interfere with the defensive player, the runner is not out. Rule 2.00

Infield Fly; Rule 7.08 (f) Exception.

3. Right – The runner establishes his/her base line and can only be called out for being out of the baseline when the defense has the ball and is waiting to make a tag at which time the runner cannot go more than three feet out of his/her baseline to avoid the tag. Since the defensive player did not have possession and waiting to make the tag when the runner went wide around third there is no violation by the runner.

Rule 7.08 (a) (1).

4. Right – Even though the third out of the inning was made on the runner at third base, the appeal, upheld by the umpire, of the runner failing to touch second base on his way to third takes precedent. Since the runner on first was forced to advance by the batter becoming a runner the out on the appeal is a force out and no runs can be allowed to score when the third out is the result of a force play. This is a situation where an umpire has to recognize an apparent fourth out.

Rule 7.10 Note 1.

5. Right – When one runner leaves early it jeopardizes all runners. So since the ball (uncaught third strike) did not leave the infield, no run can be allowed to score and since the runner on third cannot be returned to third due to everyone advancing one base safely, no run can be allowed to score and there is no out recorded, the runner just returns to the dugout.

Rule 6.05 (b) (2); Rule 7.13 (c).