> Little League Online > Learn More > Newsletters > Coach's Box Newsletter > 2010 > Coach's Box - Feb/March > Umpire Article
Volume 5, No. 2 - March 2010
You Make the Call …
- Situation – With a runner on third, the pitcher starts his/her wind-up. Midway through his/her delivery…the batter steps out of the batter’s box. The surprised hurler freezes in mid-stride and holds onto the ball. IS THIS A BALK/ILLEGAL PITCH?
- Jr./Sr./Big League Baseball/Softball, Situation – Runner on first base, one out. Two strikes on the batter. The batter swings and misses…the catcher cannot hold onto the ball. The batter takes off for first as the runner from first takes off for second. The catcher throws to the second baseman who tags the runner. The batter-runner ends up on first. HOW MANY OUTS?
- 6.02(b) - The ball is dead and no balk/illegal pitch shall be called. The batter may not step out after the pitcher starts his/her motion. Start over from “scratch.”
- 6.05(b)/7.08(c) - There are three outs. The batter was out automatically because first base was occupied with less than two outs. The runner from first was out when tagged for the third out.