> Little League Online > Learn More > Newsletters > Coach's Box Newsletter > 2010 > Coach's Box - April > Umpire Article
Volume 5, No. 3 - April 2010
You Make the Call …
- Situation – Runner on first base…the batter hits a single into right field. The runner advances to third but misses second base on his/her way. The second baseman takes the throw from the right fielder and kicks the second base bag in disgust. IS THE RUNNER STANDING ON THIRD OUT FOR MISSING THE BASE?
- Jr./Sr./Big League Baseball/Softball, Situation – The batter hits a short fly ball to center field. The second baseman and centerfielder converge on the pop-up. At the last second….the infielder lunges for the ball and deflects it into the umpire. The alert centerfielder catches the ball before it touches the ground. IS THIS AN OUT?
- 2.00/7.10 - This is an appeal play. Appeals must be made by verbal request or in an unmistakable manner. The runner is NOT out at this time.
- 2.00 CATCH - This is not a legal catch since the ball touched the umpire. The ball is alive and in play.