Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

Active Ad All and Snuggle Ad BombPop Ad BBFactory Ad Dudley Easton Ad Eteamz Ad ilead177 Gatorade heinz-ad177 Honda Kelloggs Musco Ad New Era Oakley Russell Ad Sams Club SKLZ SBFactory Ad Spalding Subway
 > Little League Online > Learn More > Newsletters > Coach's Box Newsletter > 2009 > Coach's Box - November > Umpire Article

Umpire Article

Volume 4, No. 8 - November 2009

You Make the Call …

By Little League Operations Deparment

MYTH #1 - “On a throw to home plate, the catcher is blocking the base path before he/she caught the ball. Call Interference!”

When the defense blocks the base path without having possession of the ball it is called OBSTRUCTION, not interference. A fielder, any fielder, CANNOT block a base without having possession of the ball. See Rule 2.00 OBSTRUCTION. Also, see rule 7.06 (a) and (b).

MYTH #2 - “The batter who batted out of order is out.”

After the incorrect batter completes his/her at-bat, and an appeal is made, the PROPER batter is out, (the one who should have batted). The improper batter (the one who did bat) is removed from base and any advance made by runners because of his/her batted ball, is nullified. The next batter due up is the one who follows the PROPER batter. See Rule 6.07.

© 2009 Little League International. All rights reserverd.