Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

Active Ad All and Snuggle Ad BombPop Ad BBFactory Ad Chiquita Banana Dudley Easton Ad Eteamz Ad ilead177 Gatorade Honda Kelloggs Musco Ad New Era Oakley Russell Ad Sams Club SKLZ SBFactory Ad Spalding Subway
 > Little League Online > Learn More > Newsletters > Coach's Box Newsletter > 2008 > Coach's Box - December > Umpire Article

Umpire Article

Volume 3, No. 7  

   December  2008

 
     
      
  

Stump the Umpire Q & A
By Little League

Batter ducks, ball strikes bat
Q. While the batter is moving away from a high, inside pitch, the ball accidentally hits the bat. The result is an easy tap down the first base line.

The first baseman fields the ball and tags the bag. The batter, who makes no attempt to reach first base, argues that he/she is not out because he/she didn't actually swing at the ball. Does the batter have a legitimate argument?

A. No. Even though the pitcher might have hit the batter had the batter not moved out of the way, the unintentional hit is a legally-batted ball and the batter is out.

 

 
 
 
 
 
Return to Current Issue  |  Little League Homepage
 
 
(c) 2008 Little League International  | Contact Us