Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2011 > September-December > Dates, Sites for 2012 Little League World Series Tournaments Announced

Dates, Sites for 2012 Little League World Series Tournaments Announced

Dates, Sites for 2012 Little League World Series Tournaments Announced


The dates and sites for the eight Little League World Series tournaments in 2012 were approved Friday by the Little League International Board of Directors, it was announced by Stephen D. Keener, President and Chief Executive Officer of Little League Baseball and Softball.

The Little League International Board of Directors completed two days of meetings with approval of the dates for the 2012 Little League World Series tournaments in both baseball and softball part of the agenda.

The sites for the eight championship tournaments remained the same for the 11th consecutive year. The Big League Baseball World Series will kick off the month of championship tournaments to determine the top teams in the world in each division. Easley, S.C., will serve as the home for the Big League tournament for the 12th year as the oldest age division in baseball conducts its 45th championship July 25 to Aug. 1.

The four softball World Series tournaments then take center stage beginning with the Big League tournament in Kalamazoo, Mich., Aug. 2-8. The Senior League (Lower Sussex, Del.) plays its championship Aug. 5-11, and is followed by the Little League (Portland, Ore.) division on Aug. 9-15, and the Junior League (Kirkland, Wash.) will play its tournament Aug. 12-18.

Junior League (Taylor, Mich.) and Senior League (Bangor, Maine) Baseball tournaments will be contested on Aug. 12-18. The Little League Baseball World Series begins its 11-day run on Thursday, Aug. 16 in South Williamsport, Pa.

The annual showcase of the top 11- and 12-year-old teams in the world will play the U.S. and International championship games on Saturday, Aug. 25, with the title game scheduled for the following day. The Ocean View Little League team from Huntington Beach, Calif., captured the 2011 title with a 2-1 victory over the champion from Japan, Hamamatsu Minami Little League.

The Little League International Tournament is open to any chartered league in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Tournament play in all eight Little League divisions begins in July. More than 7,000 teams, approximately 6,500 of those teams in the U.S., begin the tournaments in the Little League Baseball division. About 6,500 are eliminated in the first three weeks of play. About 45,000 games are played in eight divisions leading up to the various World Series tournaments. More than 16,000 of those games are played in the Little League division, the equivalent of more than six Major League Baseball seasons.

2012 Little League World Series Schedule

  • Big League Baseball (15-18-year-olds)
    July 25 to Aug. 1 – Easley, S.C. (Easley Recreation Complex) – 12th season in Easley; 45th season overall
    2011 Champion: South Carolina District 7 (Greenville, S.C.)
  • Big League Softball (14-18-year-old girls)
    Aug. 2 to Aug. 8 – Kalamazoo, Mich. (Vanderberg Park) - 19th season in Kalamazoo; 31st season overall
    2011 Champion: Michigan District 9 (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
  • Senior League Softball (13-16-year-old girls)
    Aug. 5 to Aug. 11 – Lower Sussex, Del. (Pyle Center) – 12th season in Lower Sussex; 37th season overall
    2011 Champion: Delaware District 3 (Laurel (Del.) Little League)
  • Little League Softball (11-12-year-old girls)
    Aug. 9 to Aug. 15 – Portland, Ore. (Alpenrose Stadium) - 19th season in Portland; 39th season overall
    2011 Champion: Sterling Little League (Sterling, Ill.)
  • Junior League Softball (13-14-year-old girls)
    Aug. 12 to Aug. 18 – Kirkland, Wash. (Everest Park) – 14th season in Kirkland; 14th season overall
    2011 Champion: Croswell Lexington Little League (Croswell, Mich.)
  • Junior League Baseball (13-14-year-olds)
    Aug. 12 to Aug. 18 – Taylor, Mich. (Heritage Park) – 32nd season in Taylor; 32nd season overall
    2011 Champion: Palma Ceia Little League (Tampa, Fla.)
  • Senior League Baseball (13-16-year-olds)
    Aug. 12 to Aug. 18 – Bangor, Maine (Shawn T. Mansfield Stadium) – 11th season in Bangor; 52nd season overall
    2011 Champion: Hilo Little League (Hilo, Hawaii)
  • Little League Baseball (11-12-year-olds)
    Aug. 16 to Aug. 26 – South Williamsport, Pa. (Lamade/Volunteer Stadiums) – 54th season in South Williamsport; 66th season overall
    2011 Champion: Ocean View Little League (Huntington Beach, Calif.)