Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2011 > May-August > Harney Little League Earns Berth in Little League Baseball World Series

Harney Little League Earns Berth in Little League Baseball World Series

Harney Little League Earns Berth in Little League Baseball World Series


2011 Little League Baseball World Series Schedule and Bracket 
2011 World Series Media Credential Form
2011 Midwest Tournament

Harney Little League from Rapid City, S.D., earned a berth in the 2011 Little League Baseball World Series today after winning the Midwest Region Tournament held at the Reuben F. Glick Little League Center in Indianapolis, Ind.

The team from South Dakota had a 4-2 lead in the top of the sixth inning over Kearney (Neb.) Little League when the game was halted due to lightning and rain in the area with Harney Little League batting. The series of storms that passed through the Indianapolis area made the field unplayable, and the game was called, reverting back to the last full inning.

The South Dakota/North Dakota State Champions opened the scoring in the first inning as Zach Solano stroked an RBI single to right field, one of his three hits in the game. Kearney Little League responded with a pair of runs in the bottom of the opening frame, one run scoring on an error and the other on a Tyler Mestl home run to center field.

The Nebraska State Champions held onto their slim one-run advantage until the fifth inning when South Dakota’s Hayden McGriff led off with his fourth home run of the tournament to knot the score at two runs apiece. A single to left field by Erik Petry broke the tie, and a bases loaded walk drawn by Cameron Fees later in the inning made it a two-run game.

Petry earned the win in relief, his second victory in the tournament, as Kearney Little League was limited to just two hits in the game.

Harney Little League joins 10 other 2011 World Series qualifiers who will be making their first appearance. That list includes: the West Region Champion, Ocean View Little League from Huntington Beach, Calif.; Billings (Mont.) Big Sky Little League, the Northwest Region Champion; Cumberland (R.I.) Little League, the New England Region Champion; North Oldham Little League from LaGrange, Ky., the Great Lakes Region Champion; Lafayette (La.) Little League, the Southwestern Region Champion; Rotterdam Little League from Rotterdam, Netherlands, the Europe Champion; Gran Maracay Little League from Maracay, Venezuela, the Latin America Champion; Aruba North Little League, from Oranjestad, Aruba, the Caribbean Champion; Asia-Pacific Region Champion Ching-Tang Little League from Kaohsiung, Chinese Taipei; and Japan Region Champion Hamamatsu Minami Little League from Hamamatsu City, Japan.

The other four 2011 World Series teams are making return trips. Langley (B.C.) Little League, the Canada Region Champion; Warner Robins (Ga.) American Little League, the Southeast Champion; Segura Social Little League from Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico, the Mexico Region Champions; and Arabian American Little League from Dhahran, Saudi Arabia, the Middle East and Africa representative, are the teams who have played in previous World Series.

The Midwest Region Champions will play their first game in the World Series, Aug. 18, against the Northwest Champions, Billings Big Sky Little League from Billings, Mont.

The 65th Little League Baseball World Series, for 11-12-year-olds, will be played in South Williamsport, Pa., Aug. 18-28. Sixteen teams from around the world will vie for the coveted title of World Champion.

For the first time since the World Series went to 16 teams in 2001, the teams will be split into two eight-team brackets – a U.S. bracket and an International bracket. For the last 10 years, the 16 teams had been split into four four-team pools.

In addition, this year a modified double-elimination format will be used that eliminates the “if necessary” games from the tournament.

The 2011 World Series is the fifth under an eight-year television contract with ESPN/ABC. All games of the World Series will be televised live, in high definition, on the ESPN family of networks or ABC. ABC will air the World Series championship game, Aug. 28 at 3 p.m., and the U.S. and International Championship games the previous day beginning with the International contest at 1 p.m. and the U.S. game to follow. For the first time, 17 World Series games will air on ESPN 3D this year.

The final berth in the Little League Baseball World Series will be decided tomorrow (Aug. 14) when the champion in the Mid-Atlantic Region (11 a.m., Bristol, Conn., ESPN2) will be determined.

Edogawa Minami Little League from Tokyo became the first champion from Japan since 2003 in last year’s World Series defeating Waipio Little League from Waipahu, Hawaii, 4-1, in the title game.

Follow every step of the Little League Baseball World Series on the Little League web site (www.LittleLeague.org).

Little League Baseball and Softball is the world’s largest organized youth sports program, with more than 2.5 million players and 1 million adult volunteers in every U.S. state and scores of other countries.

2011 Little League Baseball World Series

International Bracket

Japan Region Champion – Hamamatsu Minami Little League (Hamamatsu City, Japan)

Asia-Pacific Region Champion – Ching-Tang Little League (Kaohsiung, Chinese Taipei)

Middle East and Africa Region Champion – Arabian American Little League (Dhahran, Saudi Arabia)

Caribbean Region Champion – Aruba North Little League (Oranjestad, Aruba)

Latin America Region Champion – Gran Maracay Little League (Maracay, Venezuela)

Europe Region Champion – Rotterdam Little League (Rotterdam, Netherlands)

Mexico Region Champion – Segura Social Little League (Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico)

Canada Region Champion – Langley Little League (Langley, British Columbia)

U.S. Bracket

Southwestern Region Champion – Lafayette Little League (Lafayette, La.)

Southeast Region Champion – Warner Robins American Little League (Warner Robins, Ga.)

Great Lakes Region Champion – North Oldham Little League (La Grange, Ky.)

New England Region Champion – Cumberland American Little League (Cumberland, R.I.)

Northwest Region Champion – Billings Big Sky Little League (Billings, Mont.)

Midwest Region Champion – Harney Little League (Rapid City, S.D.)

West Region Champion – Ocean View Little League (Huntington Beach, Calif.)

Mid-Atlantic Region Champion – determined Aug. 14