Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2011 > May-August > Langley (B.C.) Little League Captures Canada Region Tournament

Langley (B.C.) Little League Captures Canada Region Tournament

Langley (B.C.) Little League Captures Canada Region Tournament


2011 Little League Baseball World Series Schedule and Bracket 
2011 World Series Media Credential Form
2011 Canada Tournament

Langley Little League from Langley, British Columbia, earned a spot in the 2011 Little League Baseball World Series by capturing the Canada Region Tournament Championship today with an 11-0 victory over Valleyfield (Quebec) Little League. The six-team, eight-day tournament was played in North Vancouver, British Columbia.

The British Columbia Champions scored early and often to capture the championship game, which was halted after four-and-half innings because of the 10-run rule. The British Columbia team scored four runs on three hits in the first inning and added seven more runs in the second inning on six hits.

Trevor Alcos stroked an RBI triple in the opening frame to get the Canadian Champions going. Alcos also completed the scoring by knocking in a pair of runs with a double in the second inning. Three other British Columbia players had a pair of RBI and two players drove in one run apiece.

Yi-Fan Pan earned his first win of the tournament allowing just two hits and striking out six.

Langley Little League finished second in pool play with a 4-1 record, and advanced to the title game with a 2-1 win over Mt. Seymour Little League from North Vancouver, British Columbia in the semifinal. Valleyfield Little League, which has sent a team to the World Series five times, earned a spot in the championship game with a 4-3 victory over top-seed, Toronto (Ontario) High Park Little League.

Langley Little League will be making its second appearance in the World Series after qualifying in 1998, where they advanced to the International Championship game.

Langley Little League joins three other 2011 World Series teams who have qualified before. Warner Robins (Ga.) American Little League, the Southeast Champion; Segura Social Little League from Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico, the Mexico Region Champions; and Arabian American Little League from Dhahran, Saudi Arabia, the Middle East and Africa representative, are the teams who have earned World Series berths this year having played in the World Series in previous years.

The other eight World Series qualifiers are all making their first appearance. That list includes: Cumberland (R.I.) Little League, the New England Region Champion; North Oldham Little League from LaGrange, Ky., the Great Lakes Region Champion; Lafayette (La.) Little League, the Southeastern Region Champion; Rotterdam Little League from Rotterdam, Netherlands, the Europe Champion; Gran Maracay Little League from Maracay, Venezuela, the Latin America Champion; Aruba North Little League, from Oranjestad, Aruba, the Caribbean Champion; Asia-Pacific Region Champion Ching-Tang Little League from Kaohsiung, Chinese Taipei; and Japan Region Champion Hamamatsu Minami Little League from Hamamatsu City, Japan.

The Canada Region Champions will play their first game in the World Series, Aug. 19, against the Middle East and Africa representative, Arabian American Little League from Dhahran, Saudi Arabia.

The 65th Little League Baseball World Series, for 11-12-year-olds, will be played in South Williamsport, Pa., Aug. 18-28. Sixteen teams from around the world will vie for the coveted title of World Champion.

For the first time since the World Series went to 16 teams in 2001, the teams will be split into two eight-team brackets – a U.S. bracket and an International bracket. For the last 10 years, the 16 teams had been split into four four-team pools.

In addition, this year a modified double-elimination format will be used that eliminates the “if necessary” games from the tournament.

The 2011 World Series is the fifth under an eight-year television contract with ESPN/ABC. All games of the World Series will be televised live, in high definition, on the ESPN family of networks or ABC. ABC will air the World Series championship game, Aug. 28 at 3 p.m., and the U.S. and International Championship games the previous day beginning with the International contest at 1 p.m. and the U.S. game to follow. For the first time, 17 World Series games will air on ESPN 3D this year.

As has been the case since 1997, everyone can follow the road to South Williamsport for the squads from the U.S. with ESPN and its family of networks coverage of the Little League Baseball regionals. Live coverage of the semifinals and championship game at all eight regional sites began August 9. In addition, the New England Sports Network (NESN) will televise four pool play games in the New England Regional, played at the A. Bartlett Giamatti Leadership Training Center in Bristol, Conn., and both semifinals.

The U.S. regional finals will be televised as follows (all times eastern): Northwest Region (Aug. 13, 5 p.m., San Bernardino, Calif., ESPN); Midwest Region (Aug. 13, 7 p.m., Indianapolis, Ind., ESPN); West Region (Aug. 13, 9 p.m., San Bernardino, Calif., ESPN); and Mid-Atlantic Region (Aug. 14, 6 p.m., Bristol, Conn., ESPN2).

The next berths in the Little League Baseball World Series will be decided today when the champions in six regional tournaments will be determined.

Edogawa Minami Little League from Tokyo became the first champion from Japan since 2003 in last year’s World Series defeating Waipio Little League from Waipahu, Hawaii, 4-1, in the title game.

Follow every step of the Little League Baseball World Series on the Little League web site (www.LittleLeague.org).

Little League Baseball and Softball is the world’s largest organized youth sports program, with more than 2.5 million players and 1 million adult volunteers in every U.S. state and scores of other countries.

2011 Little League Baseball World Series

International Bracket

Japan Region Champion – Hamamatsu Minami Little League (Hamamatsu City, Japan)

Asia-Pacific Region Champion – Ching-Tang Little League (Kaohsiung, Chinese Taipei)

Middle East and Africa Region Champion – Arabian American Little League (Dhahran, Saudi Arabia)

Caribbean Region Champion – Aruba North Little League (Oranjestad, Aruba)

Latin America Region Champion – Gran Maracay Little League (Maracay, Venezuela)

Europe Region Champion – Rotterdam Little League (Rotterdam, Netherlands)

Mexico Region Champion – Segura Social Little League (Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico)

Canada Region Champion – Langley Little League (Langley, British Columbia)

U.S. Bracket

Southwestern Region Champion – Lafayette Little League (Lafayette, La.)

Southeast Region Champion – Warner Robins American Little League (Warner Robins, Ga.)

Great Lakes Region Champion – North Oldham Little League (La Grange, Ky.)

New England Region Champion – Cumberland American Little League (Cumberland, R.I.)

Northwest Region Champion – determined Aug. 13

Midwest Region Champion – determined Aug. 13

West Region Champion – determined Aug. 13

Mid-Atlantic Region Champion – determined Aug. 14