Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2010 > May - August > Auburn (Wash.) Little League Earns Berth in Little League Baseball World Series Capturing Northwest Title

Auburn (Wash.) Little League Earns Berth in Little League Baseball World Series Capturing Northwest Title

Auburn (Wash.) Little League Earns Berth in Little League Baseball World Series Capturing Northwest Title


2010 Little League Baseball World Series Schedule and Bracket
2010 World Series Media Credential Form

A pair of Auburn (Wash.) Little League pitchers limited North Boise (Idaho) Little League to one hit in leading their team to a 13-3, four-inning victory this evening in the Northwest Region Tournament held in San Bernardino, Calif. With the win, the West Region Champions earn a spot in the Little League Baseball World Series.

Casey Manning started for Auburn Little League and gave up the only hit in two innings of work. Isaiah Hatch worked the other two innings and struck out all six batters he faced. In his 3.2 innings of work in the tournament, Hatch struck out 10 batters.

Manning had the key hit in a five-run first inning for Auburn Little League with a two-run double. After Auburn scored a pair of runs in the second frame, they struck for six runs in the third inning with a Ryan Lacy two-run double the highlight.

Hatch had a pair of hits in the game, played at Al Houghton Stadium on Little League’s Western Region Headquarters Complex, and scored three times leading helping his team to its first World Series berth. Hatch hit .578 in the six-team tournament and scored 11 runs.

Auburn Little League won all six of its games to gain its spot in the World Series. They outscored their opponents, 73-11. The Region Champions earned a spot in the championship game with a 9-2 victory over Boulder Arrowhead Little League from Billings, Mont. North Boise Little League defeated Murrayhill Little League from Beaverton, Ore., 6-3, to earn their spot in the championship game.

This is the ninth time the state of Washington will be represented in the World Series. A Washington team has won the World Series one time, National Little League from Kirkland, Wash. in 1982. A team from Washington has won the Northwest Region title each of the last three years.

Auburn Little League will be in Pool B for the first round of World Series play. They will play the New England Champion, Fairfield (Conn.) American Little League, on Aug. 20 in their first game.

The 64th Little League Baseball World Series, for 11-12-year-olds, will be played in South Williamsport, Pa., Aug. 20-29. Sixteen teams from around the world will vie for the coveted title of World Champion. All but two teams in the field have been determined after five regions champions were crowned today.

There have been two changes to the tournament that will affect aspects of play and strategy.

The 16 teams are still split into four pools with the eight U.S. regional champions on one side of the bracket, opposite the eight International qualifiers. The change comes in first round play where the winner of each pool will be determined by a double-elimination format. The winners of two U.S. and International pools meet to determine who plays in the World Championship game. Previously, the top two teams in each pool advanced to the single-elimination round and those eight teams competed for the title.

The other change comes in the area of pitch count where the International Tournament rules were brought in line with the regular-season guidelines. The change means more days of rest between appearances depending on the number of pitches thrown.

The 2010 World Series is the fourth under an eight-year television contract with ESPN/ABC. All games of the World Series will be televised live, in high definition, on the ESPN family of networks or ABC. ABC will air the World Series championship game, Aug. 29 at 3 p.m., and the U.S. and International Championship games the previous day beginning with the International contest at 1 p.m. and the U.S. game to follow.

Television coverage of the Little League International Tournament began Aug. 4 with ESPN2 airing the championship game of the Big League Baseball World Series. Beginning Aug. 10, for 18 of the next 20 days, at least one game, and many times multiple games, of the International Tournament will be televised.

As has been the case since 1997, everyone can follow the road to South Williamsport for the squads from the U.S. with ESPN and its family of networks coverage of the Little League Baseball regionals. Live coverage of the semifinals and championship game at all eight regional sites began August 10.

The remaining U.S. regional finals will be televised as follows (all times eastern): West Region (Aug. 15, 8 p.m., San Bernardino, Calif., ESPN2); and Mid-Atlantic Region (Aug. 16, 8 p.m., Bristol, Conn., ESPN2).

The next berth in the Little League Baseball World Series will be decided tomorrow when the West Region Tournament title is decided.

Follow every step of the Little League Baseball World Series on the Little League web site (www.LittleLeague.org).

Little League Baseball and Softball is the world’s largest organized youth sports program, with nearly 2.6 million players and 1 million adult volunteers in every U.S. state and scores of other countries.

2010 Little League Baseball World Series

Pool B Schedule (double-elimination format)

Midwest (Plymouth/New Hope Little League, Plymouth, Minn.)

Northwest (Auburn Little League, Auburn, Wash.)

New England (Fairfield American Little League, Fairfield, Conn.)

Southwest (Pearland White Little League, Pearland, Texas)

Fri., Aug. 20

Game 1 - New England vs. Northwest, 1 p.m., Volunteer

Game 2 - Midwest vs. Southwest, 3 p.m., Lamade

Sat., Aug. 21

Game 9 - Loser of Game 1 vs. Loser of Game 2, 8 p.m., Lamade (elimination game)

Sun., Aug. 22

Game 14 - Winner of Game 1 vs. Winner of Game 2, 8 p.m., Lamade

Mon., Aug. 23

Loser Game 9 vs. Loser Game 10 (Pool C), noon, Lamade (crossover consolation game)

Game 18 - Loser of Game 14 vs. Winner of Game 9, 8 p.m. Lamade (elimination game)

Tues., Aug. 24

Game 22 - Winner of Game 14 vs. Winner of Game 18, 8 p.m., Lamade (possible elimination game)

Wed., Aug. 25

Game 24 - Winner of Game 22 vs. Loser of Game 22, 4 p.m., Lamade (if necessary/elimination game/winner of this game wins pool advancing to U.S. title game)

2010 Little League Baseball World Series Field

Pool A - Southeast Champion, Columbus Northern Little League, Columbus, Ga.

Pool A - Great Lakes Champion, West Side Little League, Hamilton, Ohio

Pool B - Midwest Champion, Plymouth/New Hope Little League, Plymouth, Minn.

Pool B - Southwest Champion, Pearland White Little League, Pearland, Texas

Pool B - New England Champion, Fairfield American Little League, Fairfield, Conn.

Pool B - Northwest Champion, Auburn Little League, Auburn, Wash.

Pool C - Europe Champion, Kaiserslautern Military Community American Little League, Ramstein Air Base, Germany

Pool C - Mexico Champion, Oriente Little League, Nuevo Laredo, Tamaulipas

Pool C - Caribbean Champion, Jose M. Rodriguez Little League, Manati, Puerto Rico

Pool C - Japan Champion, Edogawa Minami Little League, Tokyo, Japan

Pool D - Latin America Champion, Chitre Little League, Chitre, Panama

Pool D - Middle East and Africa Champion, Arabian American Little League, Dhahran, Saudi Arabia

Pool D - Asia-Pacific Champion, Fu-Hsing Little League, Kaohsiung, Chinese Taipei

Pool D - Canada Champion, Little Mountain Little League, Vancouver, British Columbia