Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Learn More > Newsletters > Coach's Box Newsletter > 2008 > Coach's Box - October > Feature Story

Feature Story

Volume 3, No. 5  

   October  2008


In 2008, Teams from the United States Won Six of Eight Little League World Championships
Chris Downs
Little League Communications Division


The 2008 Little League International Tournament concluded with the 62nd Little League Baseball World Series being won by Wiapio Little League from Hawaii, and the Little League Softball World Series championship going to Simpsonville (S.C.) Little League.

Of the Little League’s eight World Series championships, only the Junior League World Series and Senior League Softball World Series were won by teams from outside of the United States.

In each instance, the Latin America Region champions prevailed as Pabao Little League from Willemstad, Curacao won the Junior League Baseball World Series in Taylor, Mich., and ASOFEM Little League of Maunabo, Puerto Rico, won the Senior League Softball World Series played in Lower Sussex County, Del.

The other 2008 World Series Champions are: North Cumberland Little League, Upper Deerfield, N.J. (Senior League Baseball); South Carolina District 7 (Big League Baseball); Pusch Ridge Girls Softball Little League, Oro Valley, Ariz. (Junior League Softball); and Michigan District 9 (Big League Softball).

South Carolina became the first U.S. state to have one district produce World Series Champions in different divisions in the same year.

Pabao Little League had teams qualify in three divisions of World Series play - Little League Baseball, Junior Baseball and Senior Baseball.

Return to Current Issue  |  Little League Homepage
(c) 2008 Little League International  | Contact Us